We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent connections for Edinburgh tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #75 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Hotel is distinctly average Novotel, whilst probably good value soulless as a hotel.

We actually stayed courtesy of Novotel Prague having had a poor experience there; so we picked a hotel closer to home to try out with our baby daughter. Check-in was pleasant enough, although we had to request a room with bath for our daughter - the room available however was cramped and that was without a cot; a lot smaller than what we had in Prague. The staff were brilliant though, understanding our predicament and upgrading us.

The pool was fun and very quiet late afternoon and at checking out time; there was also substantial gym equipment.

Bar/restaurant was quiet and a bit soulless but food was fine.
Breakfast was well provisioned, a good point for all Novotels in my opinion.

Service for rooms fell short a bit, fridge wasn't restocked, nor was coffee/tea. We had to ask for milk too and that wasn't provided over willingly. Maybe they don't expect people to hang about but with a baby we had a bit of "room time".

Where the hotel scores is location. If you are coming to Edinburgh to be a day and early evening tourist then this is the place to be (shouldn't be as expensive as some city centre hotels). There is an easy rail connection to Edinburgh city centre 2 minutes away with a 10 minute journey. You can have a pleasant day in Edinburgh get a meal and then train back (just make sure you don't miss the last one as a taxi will be expensive). Also close to the airport although that would be a taxi journey as no direct link until the tram project completes (airport bus 35 passes nearby but still a walk away).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishkisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thanks for your review of the hotel. We take all guest feedback seriously, and your comments about the room service have been passed to our housekeeping department.
Hope you will consider the hotel in the future when we can show the real standards of service we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,849 - 1,855 of 2,301 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

Booked the edinburgh park by mistake as i meant to book the more central novotel.
This hotel seems to be fairly new, very clean, nice rooms, didn't eat here so can't comment
on food, had a nice pool + good gym. We were also woken by the fire alarm like the previous reviewer (it was 6.15) don't know how they can say it was not loud enough as we could not
stay in the room with the noise + it was the same as the fire alarm where i work. As other reviewers have said train into city is very handy costs about £3.70 return but hotels in the
city centre are much dearer, only problem is if you want late nights trains finish befor 12pm,
(reception gave us a handy train time table), there is nothing close to the hotel inthe way of night life
All in all wasn't sorry i made the booking mistake..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel following your stay with us. Apologies for the fire alarm at 06:15hrs, caused by steam from a guest shower. We do have to evacuate the building every time the alarm goes off as a precaution, happily it was a genuine false alarm.
Hope you will return to the hotel if you are in Edinburgh again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

train to city centre only a 3 minute walk from hotel and then only 12 minutes on train to city at £2.70 return . Hotel had free car park so loads cheaper than city centre parking . Hotel clean and tidy, rooms good and swimming pool excellent .
Felt breakfast at £13 was over priced as is restaurant in general .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highly_displeased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bury, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We thought that the food menu was a little on the expensive side,
We were woke at 5.30am in the morning by the fire alarm. we did not think this was loud enough or clear enough and spent minutes in the room looking for an alarm that the children might have set up before they went to sleep.. there was no member off staff making sure that everyone were out of there rooms banging on doors pointing people in the right direction. I do feel that after speaking to other guests that they felt the same (some slept through the alarm)
I would recomend to a friend but i do feel the fire drill needs to be reviewed
I suggest that you could have a voice recording rather than an alarm or both stating that there is a fire and you need to get out,

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Used for location on bypass as overnight stop to break journey.
Welcome and check in efficient. Hotel clean, fresh and well conceived rooms as I have found in other novotels. Excellent quality rainforest type shower and smart, stylish bathroom. Beds comfortable. Room touch warm but window opened although is right next to main rail line.
Ideal for short stop over as not near any of Edinburgh's attractions but is close to airport.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We spent one night here and would recommend this hotel to anyone. We were welcomed warmly by the staff and they gave us lots of information on the hotel, facilities and local amenities. The room was immaculate and reasonably big. We had dinner at the hotel which was faultless and again the servcie was brilliant. The meals were in big portions and our waiter was happy to wrap what I'd left of mine for a snack later on! The fire alarm went off in the early hours through no fault of the hotels and the reception staff were very apolegitic when we checked out. The swimming pool and spa facilities are also a great addition - the early rise due to the fire alarm meant we had lots of time to enjoy these! Great hotel, great staff, can't compalin at all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Good value if you use the facilities and get a deal otherwise overpriced.
Pesky fire alarm disrupted sleep, however rooms were warm, comfortable and clean.
Handy for Edinburgh Airport and Bypass not so good location wise for a night on the razzle.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#71 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,668 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £50 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing