We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #76 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Manitoba, Canada
25
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Loved staying at this hotel. It's a 2 minute walk from the train station. And about a 10 minute train ride to central Edinburgh.

Free breakfast in the morning was tasty with a great variety of hot and cold food to choose from.

Liked this hotel so much, I've booked to stay again during in 2012 and have recommended it to friends.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,807 - 1,813 of 2,261 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

Went for 2 night weekend break with my wife, 2 grandsons (aged 2 & 1) and westie dog - we were given an excellent family room which was perfectly adequate with plenty of space - all staff were friendly and very helpful - pool facilities were excellent for us all (not dog, of course!) and we had a great time - breakfast ( free for kids ) was included in our rate which meant very good value for money - we took the train to city centre which was a great adventure for the boys - beware though and buy your tickets from the machine before going on train as ticket collector mentioned penalty fares etc. - luckily the lady was very good natured and only charged us normal fare - £2.70 return for each adult
Out of town situation was suitable for us but is certainly not ideal for evening socialising in central Edinburgh
We would definitely use this hotel again

Room Tip: our room was facing the side and we experienced no noise problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motorhomemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. Glad you enjoyed your stay, look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This is a nice hotel near to the office buildings of South Gyle.
It has a very modern look but lacks any homely feel and the bar area is not very cofortable or relaxing.
Meals are okay but a bit expensive.
I would only stay here again for the convenience of the offices near by there are many other hotels in Edinburgh with a cosier feel including the Hilton at the airport.
PS there were quite a few cobwebs in the lobby but otherwise it is a clean if boring hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxx1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thank you for your review of the hotel following your stay. Your comments about the cobwebs have been taken on board and resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Great Great Great,Would come back here to stay anytime

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhairi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Many thanks for your review of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Hotel is distinctly average Novotel, whilst probably good value soulless as a hotel.

We actually stayed courtesy of Novotel Prague having had a poor experience there; so we picked a hotel closer to home to try out with our baby daughter. Check-in was pleasant enough, although we had to request a room with bath for our daughter - the room available however was cramped and that was without a cot; a lot smaller than what we had in Prague. The staff were brilliant though, understanding our predicament and upgrading us.

The pool was fun and very quiet late afternoon and at checking out time; there was also substantial gym equipment.

Bar/restaurant was quiet and a bit soulless but food was fine.
Breakfast was well provisioned, a good point for all Novotels in my opinion.

Service for rooms fell short a bit, fridge wasn't restocked, nor was coffee/tea. We had to ask for milk too and that wasn't provided over willingly. Maybe they don't expect people to hang about but with a baby we had a bit of "room time".

Where the hotel scores is location. If you are coming to Edinburgh to be a day and early evening tourist then this is the place to be (shouldn't be as expensive as some city centre hotels). There is an easy rail connection to Edinburgh city centre 2 minutes away with a 10 minute journey. You can have a pleasant day in Edinburgh get a meal and then train back (just make sure you don't miss the last one as a taxi will be expensive). Also close to the airport although that would be a taxi journey as no direct link until the tram project completes (airport bus 35 passes nearby but still a walk away).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishkisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thanks for your review of the hotel. We take all guest feedback seriously, and your comments about the room service have been passed to our housekeeping department.
Hope you will consider the hotel in the future when we can show the real standards of service we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Booked the edinburgh park by mistake as i meant to book the more central novotel.
This hotel seems to be fairly new, very clean, nice rooms, didn't eat here so can't comment
on food, had a nice pool + good gym. We were also woken by the fire alarm like the previous reviewer (it was 6.15) don't know how they can say it was not loud enough as we could not
stay in the room with the noise + it was the same as the fire alarm where i work. As other reviewers have said train into city is very handy costs about £3.70 return but hotels in the
city centre are much dearer, only problem is if you want late nights trains finish befor 12pm,
(reception gave us a handy train time table), there is nothing close to the hotel inthe way of night life
All in all wasn't sorry i made the booking mistake..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel following your stay with us. Apologies for the fire alarm at 06:15hrs, caused by steam from a guest shower. We do have to evacuate the building every time the alarm goes off as a precaution, happily it was a genuine false alarm.
Hope you will return to the hotel if you are in Edinburgh again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

train to city centre only a 3 minute walk from hotel and then only 12 minutes on train to city at £2.70 return . Hotel had free car park so loads cheaper than city centre parking . Hotel clean and tidy, rooms good and swimming pool excellent .
Felt breakfast at £13 was over priced as is restaurant in general .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highly_displeased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,576 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,619 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £63 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing