We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night at the Tattoo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #79 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Grantown On spey Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Night at the Tattoo”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here before always pretty good. Did not get chance to use the pool this time.

New station is 5 minutes walk which is just fantastic as you are in the centre of Edinburgh in 10 minutes.

Lovely clean rooms with big towels.

Great choice at breakfast and very attentive staff.

Always a good experience at this hotel.

Only criticism room very hot and for safety reasons can only open the window very slightly. Does not have air con.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms ending on a 1 as they have fantastic views of Arthur's seat and all the way into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwd1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you very much for returning to stay with us. Hopefully next time you will have enough time to use our Leisure facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Edinburgh Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    950
    311
    100
    56
See reviews for
674
711
98
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

As others have said, the hotel is of a standard Novotel quality (although the bathroom decor looked a bit "rushed"), and in is a decent location, but is best avoided in the summer.

The air cooling is simply insufficient, not just in the rooms but also in the restaurant. I do suffer from heat a bit, but I was almost unable to finish my breakfast on one morning due to the temperature. No allowance was made for this in the position of the food and drink - for example, butter and orange juice were placed in direct sunlight, with the obvious results.

The staff were generally friendly and helpful; the food was nice enough and was either replenished quickly (as a matter of course) or immediately (on request); the parking is plentiful and free; the pool looks inviting if a bit small (didn't get chance to actually use it) - it's just a shame about the discomfort caused by the heat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quizeye_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park. I have taken note of your comments and will pass to the Restaurant Manager for his attention. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Check in was simple and painless, allocated a room on the first floor overlooking the train tracks, but this didn’t prove to be a problem, as with the windows closed they were barely noticeable. We were allocated a twin room, had plenty of space, the beds were fine (if a little soft) but perfectly fine to get a decent night’s sleep.

The leisure facilities were perfectly fine, the pool was a decent size for swimming, but the gym was a little on the small size, but perfectly usable.

Car parking was not an issue either – and at the end of July 2013 was free. Another plus point, the hotel is a 2 minute walk from Edinburgh Park train station, making driving into Edinburgh unnecessary. Nearby is a big retail park with a Tesco and other eating places.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper ask for a room not overlooking the railway tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcp744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park. We do hope you will return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The staff here are excellent, couldn't be more helpful or friendly and I was impressed that between them they spoke a few languages which comes in handy during the fringe. Clean rooms, very good restaurant and great breakfast buffet. Good transport links

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandrews101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments. Thank you also for mentioning that our staff are friendly & helpful I am sure they will all appreciate your positive comments too. We do hope you will return to Novotel Edinburgh Park in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed 6th Aug for one night. Room was spotless, comfortably furnished and equipped with everything I required and more e.g. hair dryer, kettle, iron/board etc. Had choice of room with bath or shower. I had shower room which was well laid out and spacious. Bonus of being able to control air con unit but it was very noisy when running. Spa area was spotless. Pool is small but coupled with steam room was perfect for relaxing after a busy day. Has gym too for the more athletic. Food in restaurant varied from pasta to steaks. I had steak and found quality and portion size to be very good. Waiting staff were very friendly, particularly Allister who took the time to ask "How was your day" and not just "What can I get you". Located next to retail park it's not in scenic area and back rooms are very close to train and tram lines. I think this is a good option to city centre hotels and only 3-5 minute walk to train station. Overall I had a great stay and look forward to future stays.

Room Tip: Rooms to front of hotel may be quieter as trains line is quite close to back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaMjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Edinburgh Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a 2 night stay here on 25th and 26th July 2013. The room was spotless and had everything we needed. The staff were extremely polite and efficient.
The breakfast had everything you could want. We ate in the hotel one evening and couldn't fault the food.
We left the car at the hotel and took the train into Edinburgh, just £7.50 return for 2 adults and 1 child.
We would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
We are so glad you choose to stay here at Novotel Edinburgh Park. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#76 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,557 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,192 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Park
Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing