We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #76 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

As always the Novotel brand has not failed in expectations.

Stayed for 2 nights on business.
All of the staff were helpful and friendly in their duties, from booking through to collecting my luggage prior to leaving.

Access to the hotel was good from the Edinburgh Park station, a short walk away. For the leisure travellers the city centre is a short and inexpensive train journey away.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing a great review for Novotel Edinburgh Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,334 - 1,340 of 2,262 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed here for an overnight with my husband and 2 young children, room was clean and comfortable...although bathroom a little slapdash decor wise, but very clean and modern- only negative was lack of a bath.
Location of hotel is great...2-3 minute walk to station and £3 return into Edinburgh...much easier and cheaper than parking in the city centre.
Pool and steam room was lovely, kids really enjoyed splashing around.
We didn't use the restaurant, but the menu looked lovely and seemed reasonable. Only negative was the price of breakfast..£12.95 per person..apparently breakfast could be prebooked ( this was not explained to us at check in) for a lower price £8.95 per person which we will do next time we visit.
All in all a lovely modern hotel with great facilities, in a super location....we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRLOSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay here at Novotel Edinburgh Park. Our breakfast is cheaper if pre-booked and I'm sorry you weren't informed of this prior to your stay. With every adult paying for breakfast a child eats breakfast free. We do hope you will return in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in December 2013 on a B&B basis - we would have stayed in Novotel in central city but this one had breakfast for same price and even allowing for train fares vs. breakfast cost this offered much better value.

Getting to the hotel from the airport was easy enough (and cheap too). Took the Airport link bus (free return with Edinburgh pass) to Waverley station and then a train out to Edinburgh Park. The train journey was about 10 mins so an ideal location just outside the city.

The station is just a 2 minute walk from the hotel and whilst a busy line (train every 10 mins) this noise did not intrude on the room.

We were quickly checked in by a welcoming receptionist, given two card keys and sent to our room on the 3rd floor (339).

First thing we noticed on entry to the room was the temperature...it felt chilly. However there is a thermostat and that was moved up to 24deg, but it took ages to bring room up to warmth.

The room was spacious and very clean but it did have a few minor flaws which in no way detracted from our stay:
1. Bulb out in bathroom
2, Grouting on floor tiles in bathroom missing in some areas, potentially creating a H&S issue as some had slightly sharp edges
3. Carpet whilst hoovered had seen better days
4. Shower had a habit of putting water outside the cubicle, making that floor with missing grouting a tad more slippy than needed - plus if you got changed and padded back in to bathroom after a shower your socks got wet.

These issues aside the room and bathroom were spotless and the bed was exceptionally comfortable.

Free room safe, which was very welcome. Easy to set code & use. Usual tea and coffee supplies and a fridge - 500ml water £2.50 a bottle.

The shower had plentiful hot water with a large drench head and std wall head. Pressure was great and also you could vary it.

Large screen LCD TV on wall but picture was low quality, but again not a problem for us as we were out too often to watch it.

The pool and steam room were great (didn't use gym). Water in pool was a lovely temperature with a powerful bubble / Jacuzzi type area. All areas very clean, although 3 loungers did seem a bit minimalistic.

Food here was surprisingly good, a tad pricey but not overly so. Presentation was excellent and service friendly & efficient. Over the course of 4 nights we ate here 3 times and every meal was high quality. Steak, burger, chilli beef, lamb pie and beef pie - all cooked well especially the steaks. Portions are not on the generous size but filling nonetheless.

Breakfast was the usual cook it then buffet it variety, but the food had a quick turnaround so it wasn't there for ages. Large choice of cooked and cereal options. The bacon was very tasty. Coffee was the big letdown, and I do mean a big let down...you needed a glass of juice to wash away the coffee. Either badly stewed or very poor quality beans. Staff a breakfast were very cheerful & friendly.

Just opposite the hotel is a KFC & a Krispy Kreme donut shop and a 5 minute walk away is a Tesco and a range of other shops.

Return train fare to city at time of writing this was £3.80 return pp for any time train and a taxi to the airport was £12.80.

Very convenient location, welcoming and friendly staff, good room size, exceptionally comfortable bed & good food make this an excellent hotel which we would definitely recommend you consider

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ollossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your very detailed review. We do hope this helps our future guests. We appreciate all feedback, thank you again for choosing to stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We often have a couple of nights in a UK city somewhere and this was one of our best stays. The hotel is very conveniently located - just off the city bypass and is a couple of minutes walk from Edinburgh Park train station with trains running to the city centre every few minutes (£3 return). Superb breakfast and lovely staff who made the children feel really special. There is very little fuss going on in the hotel - the pool and gym are unmanned (good!) and although the small communal changing rooms were a little alarming at first it was fine. Highly recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammyjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review and for choosing to stay with us at Novotel Edinburgh Park. We do hope you will return in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just on the outskirts of Edinburgh, so you can park the car and take the train into the heart of Edinbugh. The train station is very close by - so it is best to use it. The hotel is modern and almost new....not one of these hotels with character with creaking floor boards and old style bathroom facilities with a trickle shower. The bathrooms in the hotel are bang up-to-date with powerful showers.

Room Tip: Take what you are given.........it does not matter one iota.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review and for staying at Novotel Edinburgh Park. We do hope you return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The thing we liked best about this Hotel was how convenient it was to get into the centre of Edinburgh; a two minute walk (to Edinburgh Park Station) and an eight minute Train ride (only £3:50).

The Hotel itself could have been so much better and unlike other Novotels we have stayed in, there was nothing special about our stay. The service at reception was OK, the bar was adequate and the Restaurant was just about alright. The Bedroom was reasonably large but dark and you needed a degree to be able to use the Shower in the bathroom. Unfortunately the Bed was not that comfortable but at least the wifi worked in the room for a change.

Dinner was a big disappointment with the fish being tasteless and coated with soggy batter, and the Soup was just about OK. If Dinner was not too good, then Breakfast was a disaster. The continental side just wasn't fresh and the cooked foods were either overcooked or tasted as if they had come from the local convenience store (in fact no taste).

One area which was good was the Leisure Centre with a reasonable Swimming Pool and a lovely Steam Room.
Location: 4
Presentation: 3
Bed comfort: 2
Bathroom facilities: 4
Cleanliness: 4
Soundproofing: 4
Food: 2

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park, so much that we are returning next Sunday night for another one night stay.

Rooms are reasonably spacious, clean and decent bathroom. Towels good, toiletries basic but we brought our own anyway. Room has a small fridge/minibar. It's ok to move the contents though, doesn't appear to be on sensors - and only a couple of bottles of water and some milk for coffees/teas. There is also a mini kettle. There is a note on the fridge saying to feel free to use it or words to that effect. We bought a sandwich when we were in town, and had it as a snack in the morning, before going to the gym and pool before checking out for noon.

The room was rather warm, we were quite warm through the night, and in the morning I found it quite hard to get ready/dry my hair etc after having been to the pool. I wasn't warm from gym or swimming though, it was just the room temperature. It was only adjustable +- 2 degrees in the room, not much leeway really.

We had a quick look at the bar menu downstairs, was quite pricey for a glass of wine, about £7 if I recall correctly. There are no bars in the immediate area other than the hotel bar.

There is a KFC and Krispy Kreme opposite the hotel. We sampled Krispy Kreme, but they didn't have the ones we always get in the US, Devil's food and Glazed Kruller. :( Hotel is also very close to the train station, 8 or 9 minutes to Waverley and I think it was £4 or so return. The hotel is on a retail park, where there is Poundland, TK Maxx, Tesco, Decathlon Sports. Further afield is The Gyle, you could cut through the station and walk north towards the Gyle, probably about 20 mins, or take the ring road north one junction by car. There is also the Maybury Casino just beyond the Gyle. We have wondered if that is walkable.....there was an afternoon deal on one of the deal websites, but we were too late and missed out on that. Car park is free too.

As I say, we are going back next weekend because we enjoyed our stay, also good price for a night away, and using up some annual leave towards the end of the year.

Room Tip: It won't matter, it's a nice quiet area anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Just to answer your question about walking to the Casino, it is possible and would take about 25 mins approx through Edinburgh Park Business Park but a taxi would probably be the best option. Thank you again for staying at Novotel Edinburgh Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,578 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,624 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £63 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing