We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Xmas stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #82 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pre Xmas stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Modern, clean, well laid out hotel perfect for car based holiday. 2 train stops into the center of Edinburgh from station next door to hotel. Rooms, leisure and dining/lounge facilities very good. Only downside was the quality and extent of the restaurant menu for the prices charged. Breakfast very good however.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djscottyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review and for choosing to stay here at Novotel Edinburgh Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    933
    301
    96
    56
See reviews for
655
692
94
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I really struggle to find positives with this hotel. Yes its a chain hotel so I expect the soulless atmosphere and vanilla bland everything. But this hotel doesn't even do this well. Our bed was a fold down cot style creaky thing. The coffee at the Krispy Kreme across the road was better than what was available at the hotel. The gym ran out of hotels so you were expected to BYO bathroom towel, sweat on it, then take it back upstairs and dry yourself with it after your shower! The location is ghastly, out on the edge of town, past the dodgy suburbs and amongst the cheap discount shopping. It is at least a quick trip into town on the train. There you go; I found a positive! Oh and actually, the shower was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We do appreciate all feedback especially when the guest has not had an enjoyable stay. We were exceptionally busy over the Festive period and did have a delivery shortage of Leisure towels an for this we must apologise. The location of the hotel is not to everyones taste but nothing about the location is hidden from our guests and a full discription is given on our website. We would advise guests to do area research if you think the hotel is not in the area of your choice. We also encourage guest who are not happy with their stay to speak to the Duty Manager before departing the hotel so we can help to resolve issue. Again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
207 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for one night with my partner and 5 yr old niece and was impressed with every aspect of the stay.
Room was a generous size even with the sofa bed pulled out for my niece. Bathroom was clean and shower was lovely. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the hotel and again had no complaints. Refresh, hot, tasty food and plenty variety available at breakfast. Pool was quite small, but my niece still enjoyed herself in it.
Definitely a hotel I will consider again when back in Edinburgh

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspink34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We do hope you will return to Novotel Edinburgh Park in the vvery near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and son so we could go to the lion king in the city. Location was perfect. Parked the car up and the train station was only a two minute walk way. 10 on train and we were in the heart of the city centre at a cost of £6 return between us ( less than parking charges). Hotel was simple but had a modern feel to it. Rooms clean and comfortable. Pool was small but excellent . Had breakfast in the hotel but there is a tesco and krispie creme nearby. Staff very helpful. Would certainly stay again for future visits to edinburgh .

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank loch2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review and for choosing to stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park. We do hope you will return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Was looking for a decent hotel to stay a few nights over New Year's, one with a free car park and easy access to Edinburgh centre for the Hogmanay. Note to new visitors, you need to use a different postcode as our Satnav took us down a business park with a barrier-gate outside the hotel, but the security wouldn't let us through.

There's a small pool with a steam room, and a gym. Breakfast was ample and all to our liking. Service was generally very good, and rooms clean but nothing inspiring. Definitely would recommend, but possibly not for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkagenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for staying at Novotel Edinburgh Park. As you so rightly pointed out the hotel can not be accessed via Edinburgh Park Business Park but is accessed by the Hermiston Gait roundabout.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spratton, Uk
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Novotel Edinburgh Park is a very comfortable hotel with friendly and very helpful staff. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Edinburgh next to the Edinburgh Park railway station, with frequent trains to the centre of Edinburgh. The rooms, we were given an executive room were well provided and comfortable beds. The hotel has a pool. The bar was well laid out and open late. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and tasty. A good location and good accommodation was well received and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank CaptTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review and for choosing to stay here at Novotel Edinburgh Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We thought we where going to have a lovely belated wedding anniversary stay before my husband flew off the next morning.we stayed in room 441 I think!. On entering the corridor the cleaner was near our room door with trolley.when we entered the room we could tell it was a quick turnaround.the receptionist called to make sure the room was ready even although we arrived after 2!.0n entering the room we could tell it wasn't cleaned properly.the window had sticky child hand prints and marks all over it.also some spilled Doritos on window ledge.One of the orange cushion covers on the adults bed had not been ironed and was all creased and had stains on it as did the one on the sofa bed.above the bed was a light at each end and they to had not been dusted in a while the silver on them was white with dust.the tiled shelf to the right of the sink underneath near-on the floor was thick with white dust in the bathroom. also above the toilet the air vent was covered in thick white dust.their was black mould ingrained in the sealant around the bath.when we went down to the changing room for a swim it was jammed packed.the floor had a huge hair puddle on it.the towel bin was overflowing that when someone added more towels to it they all fell in the puddle!. There wasn't enough changing rooms never mind lockers.it needed a member of staff there regularly to keep the floor puddle free!. Also clean. I wondered why we seen a couple walking down the corridor with there towels wrapped around them now I know why.the pool are itself I'm pleased to say was very nice and relaxing and clean although ver crowded at times.we had to ask for more tea bags as there was only 2 but lots of coffee including decaf coffee.i asked for decaf tea bags and was told they only do decaf coffee this was the same at breakfast.again one of the windows near to where we sat was covered in a child's sticky hand prints.also where we sat the bench sofa and chairs needed a clean as they where stained and had food debri on them.before we left at 12 there was a travel cot out outside our room door.must have been for next guests.i absolutely love novatels and was really excited about staying there and was deeply disappointed.when handing in key cards at reception I was asked how our stay was and I said deeply disappointing. The guy said someone would be In touch and read and email address out that wasn't ours.when I told him ours he didn't seem to understand what I was saying his English wasn't clear.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Brenda1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your informative review of Novotel Edinburgh Park. We are dealing with the issues you had during your stay and are in contact with yourself regarding these matters. We do urge any guests no matter how small their complaint might sound to contact the Duty Manager who is available 24/7.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#73 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,510 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,154 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Park
Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing