We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel, rubbish heating system!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #82 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel, rubbish heating system!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for just one night. Its in a great location with a train and tram service direct to central Edinburgh just two minutes walk from the hotel door. Its close to the ring-road loop as well so you can get on your way very quickly in the morning as well. Rooms are very nice, decent beds and the rooms are a good size and all in all its very good indeed. Other good things - the gym is remarkably good for a hotel, with decent kit and so on, theres also a reasonable sized swimming pool too. Free car parking on site as well. Price was decent given that the central hotels hike their prices to an astronomical level during the festival.

Downside, well just the heating/cooling system. I'm all for green energy systems but this one is a wrong 'un. It made such a racket that I tried turning it off, it wouldn't. Every time I switched it off it waited a few minutes and came back on. At 2am I decided that calling reception would be better than smashing the control box off the wall in a rage (!) they came and turned it off from somewhere outide my room. Meant I had to leave the window open for cooling, and even though the room faced the railway line it was quiet enough, certainly between about midnight and 6am.

Room Tip: Its not a major issue, but ask for a room at the front facing the KFC, I suspect thats the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Room Divisions Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thank you choosing to stay with us at Novotel Edinburgh Park. We do apologise for any inconvience caused by the Air cooling unit. We do hope you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    932
    301
    96
    56
See reviews for
655
692
94
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My boyfriend and I always choose to stay at this hotel anytime we go through to Edinburgh for an overnight stay.
The hotel itself has lovely decor and is always kept very clean, the rooms have super comfy beds and the most amazing shower. It is located a two second walk from Edinburgh park train station which is two stops away from the City Centre (and also right next to the new trams now i believe) and also has a large Tesco, Decathalon, and other convenient stores right across the street, with a KFC and Krispy Kreme donuts also being right on the door step.
The hotel is good value for money as prices are never too high due to it not being in the city centre and the buffet breakfast is also good if you can get a good price although wouldn't pay for it separately as its over £10pp, when you could simply walk over to tesco and get a hot meal for a fraction of the price.
The pool area is great, usually nice and quiet, and has a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi situated around it. The gym is small although has the necessary equipment and is also located beside the pool with glass walls separating them so quite handy if you had to watch your kids in the pool area while you worked out.
All the staff in the hotel are extremely friendly and will do their very best to accommodate any requests, as a few times we have been upgraded to an executive suite on arrival for either an extra £15 or no cost at all!

Definitely recommend this hotel for any visitors to Edinburgh!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khjh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Room Divisions Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review of Novotel Edinburgh Park. We do appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Spacious room and bathroom. Bed not so good- a little too firm-personal choice. Staff very friendly. Ample breakfast including cold meats, cheeses, sweet pastries and yoghurt. A fair way out of town but very close to the tram if you are travelling into the city-€1.50 one way.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Novotel Edinburgh Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We only stayed here for one night before we left Edinburgh and we booked it due to the price being lower than some 2* or 3* hotels in the city centre. We arrived by train and the hotel is only a few minutes walk from Edinburgh Park station along a footpath. Trains to Waverley run roughly every 15 minutes. The service provided by the hotel staff was excellent, typical of what you would expect of a Novotel. The room was large and extremely comfortable and we could see Edinburgh Castle in the distance. Despite being outside of the city centre (on an out-of-town retail park) the hotel was extremely well connected and we were able to take the tram straight to the airport. This hotel is a good choice if you want a quieter location or if you wanted to bring a car and not drive into the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review and for choosing to stay with us. We all appreciate our guests feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here from 18-20th of August this year and had a wonderful time. Checking in was easy and we were lucky enough to have a room facing towards the city rather than the railway line. Bedroom was clean, bed and sheets extremely comfy. The highlight of the hotel was the pool, lovely and relaxed atmosphere, dimmed lights and warm water :) Breakfast was good. Full Scottish breakfast available as well as fruit, pancakes , cereal etc. We didn't use the restaurant but went to the bar one night which had a nice atmosphere. The only downside to the stay were that our shower stopped working on the second night ,however the staff were quick to fix this . We had no problem with railway noise like others have described. There is a tesco and krispey kreme near by which we took advantage of :) TIP: Use the trams, less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel, 3.50 for a day ticket which you can use as many times as you want and much less confusing than the trains! Will definitely be back to Novotel Edinburgh park.

Room Tip: Rooms from I think 200-210, 300-310 etc. have a better view as face towards city centre rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasmineHNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park and for your recent review. We do hope you will return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is located 2 minutes walk from Edinburgh park train station. It's 3 pounds return for Edinburgh city centre. The train runs regularly which makes this hotel very accessible. The hotel provide free parking also. However, there are not much around the hotel except a big retail park.

The room was nice and clean, it had all the basic stuff you needed. The staff could do with a bit more smile but overall friendly and helpful. My husband had a fever on the Sunday we stayed and I asked the hotel if they had thermometer in their first aid kit which, they didn't. But they did provide me with directions on how and where to buy one. We stayed in a room close to the rail so it could be noisy at times.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not facing the railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YW L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review of Novotel Edinburgh Park. We do hope other guests find it useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#73 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,510 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,154 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Park
Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing