We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice if what you are looking for is space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood
Ranked #115 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
milano
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“nice if what you are looking for is space”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I was staying at the Holyroom Dremahouse on a business trip. I got a very large apartment with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms.
Positive aspects: you get a lot of space, a kitchen with all you need and a nice terrace.
Negative sides: it is not in the city center. not far, but not central either. the cleanliness is only superficial (there was dust in the drawers and some dishes were not actually clean..). The shower was not working properly (water wouldn´t drain). In the bathroom they provide a bare minimum quantity of soap. There is no indications on how to connect to the wi-fi. One of the two bedroom was useless because of the terrible mattress.
On a overall judgment, Holyrood is OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachele78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
21
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We've been travelling around Europe for four weeks and this was the first apartment we've stayed at, with all previous nights being spent in hotels. These apartments were a breath of fresh air, as it was great to spread out a bit, cook our own dinner, relax in the lounge etc. The apartments are fairly new so everything is modern and comfortable.
Location is great, walking distance to the royal mile and the main attractions, and out apartment had a great view of Arthur's Seat. Wifi worked well and the apartment was cleaned every day.
Overall the price was very reasonable for the product, no real faults that I could think of.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Arthur's Seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Best thing about these apartments is their position. Just one street back from the Royal Mile, it is an easy walk to the castle in one direction and Holyrood Palace the other. The free secure parking is an added bonus as is the wi-fi. Tesco is just up the road and there are resturants nearby.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back so you miss the traffic noise. Don't forget to ask for a parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Was looking forward to our stay here after 6 days on the road touring Scotland, we decided we would splurge on our last port of call in Edinburgh.
Cannot fault these apartments for location; absolutely lovely place to stay. I just felt that we were paying 5 star prices for what wasn't necessarily a 5 star product and it really was the little things that let it down but when paying £100 a night self catering, these things add up!
Was banking on washing my clothes for my stay in Edinburgh, however there was no washing powder. There was also no milk, mineral water or sugar - all of which are listed in the 'starter pack'. Main bulb gone in second bedroom, other bulbs gone throughout the apartment and one of the dimmer switch knobs missing. Kitchen was moderately equipped, we struggled to find knives and forks! I appreciate this is an apartment not a hotel but found it odd there was nowhere to sit and dry my hair. I've still given these apartments 4* because they really are lovely - I personally just felt a little disappointed with the finishing touches.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaRose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

As a frequent traveller to Edinburgh I'm a regular at the Dreamhouse Holyrood - probably averaging more than a week per month there.
It's extremely conveniently located for me (my office is over the road) but also right next to Arthur's Seat and just off the Royal Mile.

For a similar price to a hotel you get a two bedroom apartment (great during school holidays as I can take the wife and kids with me at no extra cost) with kitchen and facilities, as well as free parking. When you travel as much as I do, self-catering makes a big difference to the waist-line :-)

Granted, it's not a hotel, so check-in / out isn't quite as simple - but I've never had a problem or delay (except once when I was arriving at an anti-social time and had forgotten to call ahead...)
The building and Dreamhouse staff are all friendly and helpful - all in all I'd highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Our 2 bedroom apartment had a wonderful view of the Crags from the balcony. We enjoyed sitting out watching the colours as the sun set. It is on the edge of the city while being close to the centre just a short walk to the Royal mile, Scottish Parliament and Holyroodhouse. The rooms were well furnished and the beds comfortable.
We had no problem with getting in, just called ahead and met the representative who showed us the underground parking (included) and gave us a brief tour of the flat and made sure we knew how to log in to the wifi.
As for the details that let it down a bit, we were told there would be coffee and tea. There was plenty of tea but no coffee. There was supposed to be a map in the folder but there wasn't. The detergent was in a wet bowl in a cupboard which had rusty bits and pieces in. The cutlery seemed to be a bit of a mixed set with different sized spoons, knives and forks. Finally the hot water failed halfway through my daughters shower and we had to poke around to find out how to re-set the heater. It was quite easy once we found the manual.
All in all a bit of attention to the details would have made this from a good average to an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in Flat 70 which had a nice view of the Crags
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchs Forest, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

On arrival donna met us to give us keys etc and show us apartment. Noticed the cupboard under the sink was dirty and the washing powder, or dishwashing samples had leaked all over the cupboard. The main bedroom bed was unusable due to the mattress being too thin on the frame and had to use the second bedroom. The heaters were faulty and came on during the night and some one had them set on 5 which meant the apartment was about 30 degrees during the night. Location was excellent but also the wi fi did not work.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldfartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#53 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,962 reviews
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#66 of 148 in Edinburgh
979 reviews
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,118 reviews
Old Town
Sugarhouse Close - Royal Mile
Sugarhouse Close - Royal Mile
#154 of 205 in Edinburgh
10 reviews
Old Town
Panmure Court
Panmure Court
#110 of 205 in Edinburgh
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood

Property: Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood
Address: The Park, 89 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing