We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more of a nightmare than a dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood
Ranked #117 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“more of a nightmare than a dream”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The first thing i will say is you will have no dreams or nightmares here because you will not get any sleep to have them. The apartment was located at back of the building very very close to a noisy primary school this combined with the view of some council flats and edinburghs busiest alleyway was not the view of arthurs seat you will see on the website. On arrival we found there was no tea no coffee no milk no soap no shampoo no dishwasher tabs and kitchen was literally falling to bits with doors precariously balanced and would fall off if you touched them. The handle on fridge came off in your hand it had some sticky goo on it so it could be replaced to surprise the next guest. The next morning at 9.30 some man let himself in and was shouted HELLO HELLO why we don,t know ?.Every morning the cleaners did a small perfunctory knock and walked in you couldn't lock the door on them and they made us feel like we were an inconvenience. And this is costing 200 pounds a night. thanks for reading this my fellow traveller and best regards .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea79186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
21
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Apartment is in desparate need of redecoration; marks and holes in walls. Electrics on show in the sitting room - nice! Hairdryer provided but no mirror near electrical socket means you can't see what your doing :-). Definitely not 4star and not worth the price tag.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I was staying at the Holyroom Dremahouse on a business trip. I got a very large apartment with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms.
Positive aspects: you get a lot of space, a kitchen with all you need and a nice terrace.
Negative sides: it is not in the city center. not far, but not central either. the cleanliness is only superficial (there was dust in the drawers and some dishes were not actually clean..). The shower was not working properly (water wouldn´t drain). In the bathroom they provide a bare minimum quantity of soap. There is no indications on how to connect to the wi-fi. One of the two bedroom was useless because of the terrible mattress.
On a overall judgment, Holyrood is OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachele78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We've been travelling around Europe for four weeks and this was the first apartment we've stayed at, with all previous nights being spent in hotels. These apartments were a breath of fresh air, as it was great to spread out a bit, cook our own dinner, relax in the lounge etc. The apartments are fairly new so everything is modern and comfortable.
Location is great, walking distance to the royal mile and the main attractions, and out apartment had a great view of Arthur's Seat. Wifi worked well and the apartment was cleaned every day.
Overall the price was very reasonable for the product, no real faults that I could think of.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Arthur's Seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Best thing about these apartments is their position. Just one street back from the Royal Mile, it is an easy walk to the castle in one direction and Holyrood Palace the other. The free secure parking is an added bonus as is the wi-fi. Tesco is just up the road and there are resturants nearby.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back so you miss the traffic noise. Don't forget to ask for a parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Was looking forward to our stay here after 6 days on the road touring Scotland, we decided we would splurge on our last port of call in Edinburgh.
Cannot fault these apartments for location; absolutely lovely place to stay. I just felt that we were paying 5 star prices for what wasn't necessarily a 5 star product and it really was the little things that let it down but when paying £100 a night self catering, these things add up!
Was banking on washing my clothes for my stay in Edinburgh, however there was no washing powder. There was also no milk, mineral water or sugar - all of which are listed in the 'starter pack'. Main bulb gone in second bedroom, other bulbs gone throughout the apartment and one of the dimmer switch knobs missing. Kitchen was moderately equipped, we struggled to find knives and forks! I appreciate this is an apartment not a hotel but found it odd there was nowhere to sit and dry my hair. I've still given these apartments 4* because they really are lovely - I personally just felt a little disappointed with the finishing touches.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaRose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

As a frequent traveller to Edinburgh I'm a regular at the Dreamhouse Holyrood - probably averaging more than a week per month there.
It's extremely conveniently located for me (my office is over the road) but also right next to Arthur's Seat and just off the Royal Mile.

For a similar price to a hotel you get a two bedroom apartment (great during school holidays as I can take the wife and kids with me at no extra cost) with kitchen and facilities, as well as free parking. When you travel as much as I do, self-catering makes a big difference to the waist-line :-)

Granted, it's not a hotel, so check-in / out isn't quite as simple - but I've never had a problem or delay (except once when I was arriving at an anti-social time and had forgotten to call ahead...)
The building and Dreamhouse staff are all friendly and helpful - all in all I'd highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#64 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#55 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Sugarhouse Close - Royal Mile
Sugarhouse Close - Royal Mile
#157 of 203 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Old Town
Panmure Court
Panmure Court
#111 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Old Town
Aparthotel Adagio Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood

Property: Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood
Address: The Park, 89 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreamhouse Apartments Holyrood Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing