We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“greyfriars kirkyard tour”

City Tours Edinburgh
Ranked #195 of 265 Tours in Edinburgh
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walking tours in Greyfriars Kirkyard and Covenanters Tours. We currently provide historic walking tours of Greyfriars Kirkyard and our new Covenanters Tour with more new tours in the planning. Private tours can also be catered for also private celebrity tours. We can also organise an afternoon tea after your tour. Please contact us for more information.
Reviewed 17 November 2014

Was thoroughly fascinated as we were shown around the graveyard by our lovely hostess Ciara.She explained everything about the history of the graves and the Kirk, was very informative and added a touch of Irish humour though not in a disrespectful way as we made our way through the grounds. Even though it was just my wife and myself who were there we certainly were informed about everything. Time passed by quick and the tour was over too soon.Would definitely recommend doing this tour as it is a lot different to the "spooky" tours on offer-here you learn a bit about our history.
William and Jane P.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanyAustralia, Owner at City Tours Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2014

Did tour of Greyfriars Kirk and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our guide Fraser was brilliant being both interesting and educational. I come from Edinburgh and did not know half the stuff he told us. Would highly recommend tour especially if you want to avoid the tacky ghost type ones that most people do and actually hear about history. Thanks to Fraser for making it so good.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanyAustralia, Owner at City Tours Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your tour with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Our guide Fraser looked after us so well, even shared a coffee with us afterwards, very friendly and very knowledgable, he even took us to the normally out of bounds Street of Death. Thoroughly recommend this tour, the 2 hours just flew by.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Tours Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to City Tours Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing