We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well appointed cosy apartment by the Royal Mile”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Town apartment

Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Sitting Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
224June
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well appointed cosy apartment by the Royal Mile”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this tastefully decorated apartment which as a mix of carefully chosen traditional furniture combined with contemporary soft furnishings and decorations. It was spotlessly clean, and there were several personal touches by the owner. The location is excellent for visiting all the major sights in the Old Town of Edinburgh, and just a 15-minute walk over to the New Town. We were surrounded by restaurants of all budgets. The apartment is in an old tenement building, so there's two short flights of narrow stairs to walk up, but that just adds to the character of the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decoration and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay at Old Town 163 and for taking the time to leave a review. It is very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis in brilliant location”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely high ceilings in an old beautifully maintained building next to the Castle. Location is wonderful:steps to the Castle and Royal Mile. Restfully furnished with no clutter. Mary the owner was helpful with directions before we arrived, met us outside and offered suggestions for services and amenities. We had a lovely time.
Two flights of stairs, one outside and one inside, could be difficult for some people.
Nice collection of books and DVDs we never used but useful for staying-in time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is wonderful.
Liked least: We would have liked a few more pots and pans in the kitchen.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad that you enjoyed staying in the apartment and Edinburgh. It was a pleasure to have you as guests and I would be happy to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbug...
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Joy to Stay Here...Excellent location, Clean, Beautiful view”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Immediately noticed that the owner was very attentive to making her guests comfortable in this apartment flat. Lots of little details, like milk and o.j. in fridge, cookies and tea, exceptional bedding and a binder with suggestions of places to eat, plus things to see and do. So close to everything, especially Edinburgh Castle. There are window seats to enjoy the view of the mountains and city life. Our family of 6 loved our stay here. There are stairs to climb to the front door and then again up the the apartment, just to be aware of that.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay in our apartment and for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely appartment, with everything you need in a perfect location”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Couldn't believe how lucky we were being in the heart of the city. The flat had recently been refurbished, kitchen had everything we needed (we cooked a lot), everything of the highest quality. Lots of attention to detail, lovely to find the basics all there for us (soaps, washing powder, tea, olive oil, sugar, milk, juice etc) on our arrival. And wi-fi, TV, games to keep everyone occupied in our down time. Owner very nice, being there to meet us even though our train was 2 hours late. Very comfortable and a great base for all the local sights, being a few minutes (not even) from the Royal Mile. Definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Quality of furnishings and equipment
Liked least: twin bedroom dark, but that really can't be helped, it is what it is
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay in our apartment and for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday in Edinburgh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff O
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Apartment in Edingurgh”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was perfect. Very spacious and clean. We stayed with our son and his wife and enjoyed how quiet it was and how convenient to the Royal Mile and the Castle. We will stay here again when we visit Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
I am glad that you enjoyed staying in our apartment and also enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECov79
Plymouth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Rental”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved staying here! The rental was so comfortable and VERY clean. The kitchen had everything we needed. The location was perfect - about a 5 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. Mary was great and easy to work with. Really can't say enough good things about the place! I would recommend it!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review it is much appreciated.
I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you for choosing to stay in our apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay in our apartment. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing