We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to love it, not any more”
Review of Bar Napoli

Bar Napoli
Ranked #420 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Used to love it, not any more”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Have had a fabulous meal on each visit to Edinburgh previously. Usually go to town, and have 3 courses, with coffee and a bottle of wine....all off the full price menu - not special offers, and usually spend quite a bit of money. Made a beeline on this trip expecting the same wonderfull experience of past visits. Arrived 10 minutes after opening. There was a couple at one table in the middle of the restaurant, and a family with young children sat at the back. It was a hot day, and I wanted to sit at one of the empty tables near the door to enjoy the cool air, but was told rather rudely that I could not sit there. We were taken to a table at the back and were told we must sit there - at the table next to the family. I asked again about sitting at the front, and was just ignored. At this point, I turned round and walked out. We went to another restaurant and spent over £80. Can a small business afford to turn away business like this? Apparantly so!! Won't be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    255
    94
    84
    119
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Veal”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I eat there with my wife on June 19. We both ordered veal dinners. Both were fantastic and the sauces were out of this world. If I every get back to Edinburgh I will but this place at the top of my list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OhioRetiredtoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food! Great service!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We went here for dinner food was lovely and staff were extremely pleasant we had our 2 year old with us and the staff were great with him also! Will definitely be going back here! X

Helpful?
Thank Meatout10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lunch menu is excellent value”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I visited for lunch and took advantage of the unbeatable value of the lunch menu - 3 courses for £5.75

My main course of a Margherita pizza was very good though my garlic bread starter was somewhat lack lustre.

Helpful?
Thank Connoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very disappointing attitude”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My daughter was one of a group of 19 sixth year young people invited to eat at Bar Napoli for a friends birthday on Thursday 12th June. She was one of 3 who were first to arrive and they were treated very disrespectfully by the staff from the outset, asked to stand outside and treated as if they were a problem in some way. Although I understand that the staff were concerned about a booking for so many people, that had not apparently been confirmed on the day, I do not think that is an excuse for talking down and dismissively to any of them. In the end 19 of them showed up - a great income for the restaurant on a Thursday evening . . . but my daughter won't be taking her friends there for her birthday in July and I won't be there with my friends either any time soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Macmommybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Napoli also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Bar Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing