We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I will book at Megs again whenever I’m in...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious double bedroom only 15 mins city centre Spacious detached house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Spacious double bedroom only 15 mins city centre
Spacious detached house
Guests have their own dining room
shower room next to bedroom
Roomy entrance hall
Private kitchen but I may be able to do laundry, please ask
Lovely sun room
Our lounge, welcome to pop in and say hello
Welcome to sit in the garden, south facing so warm & sunny
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
760beatl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I will book at Megs again whenever I’m in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed in a double room with two single beds for five days and had a wonderful time with Meg – she was very friendly.
She helped us with advice and deeds whenever we needed it. The room and bathroom were simple but clean. I wished for a little more water pressure while showering – but it was sufficient.
I will book at Megs again whenever I’m in Edinburgh and there's something available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
Lovely couple of friends. Glad to help out with tourist attractions off the beaten track.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mccreeria...
2 reviews
“Best Booking I've Ever Made”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I was very impressed by the quality of accommodation at this price and if I ever go back to Edinburgh will definitely stay here. Was a very doable distance from the City Centre by bus only like 10min. Very welcoming and friendly, treated us like family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quick Wifi and friendly service!
Liked least: Having to take any bus at all
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
What lovely guests. You absolutely adored the house and your quiet room. Glad you had a rest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted: friendly, comfortable and convenient!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Margaret was a great host and couldn't have been more helpful. The accommodation was homely (and importantly for me had really comfortable beds!). Everything we needed was provided and it was an easy 10 min bus or tram ride into the city centre. It is in a quiet residential area which we were happy returning to, quite late at night. We ate out most of the time but Margaret was very relaxed about our sharing her kitchen. All in all we had a great stay, we would certainly recommend this accommodation and would happily stay here again ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness and location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thankyou so much for your lovely review. You and your daughter were wonderful guests and I know you had a great time in Edinburgh. Welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
It was lovely to host you and your grandfather. Sorry the weather wasn't too warm but compared to 34 degrees in Murcia perhaps it was a nice change! I hope you welcome you and your family back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
monotenni...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Aw thanks Sylvie. Ideal guests, friendly, courteous and very quiet above my bedroom at night :) Happy to share my house with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czymara...
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked least: Dusche, Toilette nicht im Zimmer, sondern nur über den Flur zu erreichen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thankyou for your review. I wish you had told me about the TV as I have dozens of channels on cable but I think it must have stuck on the football channel - you just needed to ask ! Oh dear! I have now added another room where guests can sit at a dining table & heat their own food. Hope you aren't too disappointed but I'm glad you said I was helpful :) I always do my best to help everyone who stays here
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cioch81
Belluno, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Ospitalità e il prezzo molto competitivo
Liked least: Moquet e tendoni che non vanno d'accordo per chi è allergico...ma è la norma in UK!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Thanks so much Georgio. It was a pleasure having you two stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing