We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent central stay”
other travellers have booked this property
A single room available for weekend during Fringe!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A single room available for weekend during Fringe!
Detached house very close to city centre Sunny room with lots of desk space, if studying
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
A single room available for weekend during Fringe!
Detached house very close to city centre
Sunny room with lots of desk space, if studying
spacious hallway
Welcoming lounge
Conservatory
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 1
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sxl19
uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent central stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed with Mags for a week at this property.
great central location, all attractions within easy reach.
lovely room, very peaceful and comfortable and clean.
host, mags was superb.- thanks !!

well recommended for anyone really..

top stay

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thanks for great review Simon. Ideal guest, welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbiez66...
Sheffield, UK
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect base for a solo traveller”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I recently visited Edinburgh for the film festival and staying in Mag's house was the perfect base to explore the city and get the most out of the festival.

It's literally 5-10 minutes on the bus or tram into Princes Street and these run every 5 minutes or so.

It's a really nice quiet area with a convenience store, cafe, pubs, pharmacy and restaurants within a few minutes walk.

The house is on a really quiet street and there's hardly any night noise. The bed is really comfy (and I'm a 6ft 5 man staying in a single bed) and the room and bathroom are clean and cosy.

Mags is happy to help with anything you need but leaves you to your own devices if that's what you want. It's like staying at a friend's house but the guest area feels slightly separate, so you have your privacy. Tea/coffee etc is provided in your room. The wifi is very good.

When I return to Edinburgh I'll hopefully be able to stay here again. It's much nicer than staying in a hotel and an absolute bargain at the price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quiet
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thanks for a great review Robb, you were a dream guest. I look forward to your return anytime, but of course you will probably have to endure another 20 minutes of brain picking!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eimear k
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value, and a great host in Mags, I'll be back!:)”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely comfortable room in a really nice area of the city, about five mins walk from Murrayfield stadium, which was a surprise. Mags is a warm and generous host and made me feel at ease as a solo traveller, and even drove me to show me where to get my early morning bus, so that i wouldn't get lost! Bus stop and tram are within a few mins walk and a lovely cafe (CocoBean) nearby provides great breakfast options. On the airport side of the city too, so really handy for getting in and out of town. I've already recommended Mags to everyone I know, and would be happy to book this accommodation anytime:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Hey Eimear, wondered why I hadn't heard from you.... but worth the wait!
Thanks for the lovely review and be delighted to host you again when you next need a break!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbyjo20...
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was my best experience while staying in Scotland!
My room was clean and comfortable. The home is perfectly situated just a short , convenient bus ride to the city center. Breakfast was not provided but tea and coffee are available in your room. I stayed 8 days and was given access to Margaret's refrigerator so I was able to buy myself staples like cereal and milk.
What makes this place so special is the hostess.
Margaret made my stay wonderful. She is warm and friendly, very knowledgeable about her cities attractions and we had a few good conversations and laughs over tea. I hope on my return to Edinburgh, Margaret will have room to welcome me back into her home, as I would stay there again.I highly recommend this booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The friendly hostess
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Thankyou so much for a lovely review Debby Jo. It was a pleasure having you stay and I enjoyed our chats very much. The fridge will have a wee space for your milk anytime. The maple syrup and butter were demolished weeks ago, yum yum. Spread the word to your Outlander Gathering friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KafeHut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly, clean and tidy.”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I was booked into a single room by my company so can't comment on the whole flat. The place was warm, clean and tidy. Margaret was very friendly and knowledgeable about local area and places to eat etc. The room was small but equipped with all the usual necessaries and the bed was literally a dream. I've given it 4* since I need to keep the 5* rating free for the Ritz when I stay there (hint hint EISF).

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Bed and warmth
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thanks for your feedback Karsten. Must try out that bed myself, sounds great!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith H
Thurso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My private single room was perfect for a lone traveller. 5 minutes walk to bus stops on major routes. 8 minute bus ride to Haymarket railway station, a couple of minutes more and you are in the city. Home owner very friendly and helpful. My room was quiet, warm and cosy. I will definitely stay here again and would recommend this accommodation.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
And you were the perfect guest. Look forward to seeing you again later in the year, we'll have that glass of wine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pge98
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The location is a few min bus/tram ride West of the city centre (frequent service) in a quite and safe neighbourhood. The room offered all I needed: a fantastic bed, a closet and a desk as well as sufficient space. The bathroom is around the corner, clean with all the desired amenities and you share it only with one other room. For me the place was absolutely perfect because I was looking for a quite place with good WiFi allowing me to work. M. will take well care of you, change towels and linen as needed, make sure you've always the possibility to make yourself a tea or coffee, and if in doubt ask her for advice or help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The friendly service
Liked least: That I had to leave in a rush
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
One of the nicest guys I could meet! Glad to have helped with accommodation while waiting for your University room to become available. Welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing