We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggy heaven!”

Hendersons Salad Table Restaurant
Ranked #540 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: Established in 1963, Scotland's first vegetarian restaurant "The Salad Table" is still proudly serving fresh, wholesome and tasty food. Join us for breakfast, lunch or dinner, or visit our deli shop for some takeaway and a loaf from our onsite organic bakery. Our restaurant is set up cafeteria style, offering a relaxed and informal dining experience, featuring live music every night, it's perfect for families, young and old, and still run as Janet Henderson envisioned 53 years ago.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Veggy heaven!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I are meat eaters, but enjoy eating healthy on vacation. We found this restaurant in our lonely planet guidebook and everything we got was excellent! I got the crepe special (mushrooms, spinach and cheese in a cream sauce) and my husband got a specialty bean burger. We also had the veggie haggis nachos. Everything was excellent and better than we expected! Delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sportlaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    317
    144
    120
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely little restaurant. Friendly staff. Great atmosphere. Amazing selection of food to choose from. Perfect evening out.

Helpful?
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great Vegetarian food, but go there during the day now.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This used to be, literally, my favourite restaurant in the world, because of the wide range of delicious vegetarian salads and hot meals to choose from. The dishes are all on display (during the day only now!) which you choose by pointing to the combination and quantities that you want of each. There are a range of dressings, organic beers and wines and artisan breads to choose from too.
However, I was utterly dismayed on this visit to the UK - the first in a couple of years - to find they have changed to 'table service' in the evenings, and to my mind, utterly lost the best feature. Everything went wrong: The menu is brown writing on beige paper and was hard to see in the candle light, the extremely limited salad selection was described verbally, although they did invite you to get up and go and look at them as they were still on display. The two dishes my wife wanted were apparently off, although when she went to choose something else, she not only found both of those still available, but some of the larger range of lunchtime salads were still there. So with some complicated negotiations involving running back and forth from the table to the counter and pointing meant she was able to select a meal she wanted from a wider range (completely missing the point of table service; far less effort was involved in queuing for food once at the beginning!). After all that, the meal that arrived for her was not the selection she had ordered, but at this point she shrugged and ate. My own meal arrived with some very dense bread that I hadn't ordered - if I had I would have ordered the rolls they used to do, but were no longer down as an option. My nut roast was over sized and swimming in a bland vegetable sauce - it looked the same as the last time, but was comparatively flavourless. I ordered an ale, and was brought a lager. We sullenly ate in silence and left.
So, utterly disappointed, I won't be going back in the evening again, (and I will miss the routinely excellent live background acoustic music) unless perhaps enough people agree with me that the gem that they had was the wide selection of foods that you could see before ordering and they lose the futile attempt to go up market. I'm still giving it a high rating, but from 'best vegetarian restaurant I've ever been to' its demoted to great cafe to have a vegetarian lunch in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MRandHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent veggie food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Really nice place to go for a casual lunch. I had a baked potato with a selection of salads from the salad bar and partner had haggis, neeps and tatties. Both very good and had an excellent slice of cake for afters.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shoanib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“sold!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I am usually not a vegetarian but I was pleasantly surprised to not only not miss the meat but ask myself why I'm not eating vegetarian more often. we had a three course meal which was really a lot and we enjoyed it so much!

Helpful?
Thank nonameavailablehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hendersons Salad Table Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hendersons Salad Table Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing