We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and nice atmostphere (veggie)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hendersons Salad Table Restaurant

Hendersons Salad Table Restaurant
Ranked #431 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$17
Cuisines: European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: Established in 1963, Scotland's first vegetarian restaurant "The Salad Table" is still proudly serving fresh, wholesome and tasty food. Join us for breakfast, lunch or dinner, or visit our deli shop for some takeaway and a loaf from our onsite organic bakery. Our restaurant is set up cafeteria style, offering a relaxed and informal dining experience, featuring live music every night, it's perfect for families, young and old, and still run as Janet Henderson envisioned 53 years ago.
Level Contributor
184 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely food and nice atmostphere (veggie)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I ate her on an evening for the first time (I have been during the day for a cuppa/lunch). They had a live pianist which made for a lovely atmostphere. The food was delicious and the portion size was good. Staff were helpful and friendly. i would really recommend

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nickoaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    310
    134
    114
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The very finest of its genre!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I may no longer be a veggie but Hendersons is always a place to go to for great food and a lovely quiet ambience.
Quite simply the very best in wholesome vegetarian food which is handy and healthy for anyone's palette. I will be there again in November this year and will be introducing my wife to the establishment for the first time. The salad bar will be very much to her liking as will many of the main courses.
If you are ever in Auld Reekie, then treat your innards to a nice wholesome nosh up - and not a baa, moo or oink in sight!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IAK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a healthy and tasty break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

After days of bacon, egg, sausages and other forms of "hart attack on a plate" Henderson's was a great treat, fresh crunchy salads, puffy spanakopita, nice curry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful vegetarian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

When you are a vegetarian or have food allergies, eating during a trip might be an issue. That was definitely not the case in Edinburgh because of Henderson's. They have a restaurant where you can properly sit and enjoy your meal and also a café for those who dont have so much time. The menus have gluten free and vegan signs so you dont need to be asking what is ok for you. Love it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Livia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dry hummus!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I was surprised about the many good reviews. I visited with a group of friends and none of the food we ordered was any good. I had a mezze platter, which among others came with hummus, falafel and coleslaw. Everything was bad. The falafel was so dry that it fell apart. Even the hummus was dry. I have never tried dry hummus before. The coleslaw looked so ancient that I did not dare try it. When I looked around all the plates were full of misery. I will spare you the details of the toilets.

Helpful?
2 Thank J10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hendersons Salad Table Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hendersons Salad Table Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing