We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgia is what it used to be”

Hendersons Salad Table Restaurant
Ranked #537 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: Established in 1963, Scotland's first vegetarian restaurant "The Salad Table" is still proudly serving fresh, wholesome and tasty food. Join us for breakfast, lunch or dinner, or visit our deli shop for some takeaway and a loaf from our onsite organic bakery. Our restaurant is set up cafeteria style, offering a relaxed and informal dining experience, featuring live music every night, it's perfect for families, young and old, and still run as Janet Henderson envisioned 53 years ago.
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nostalgia is what it used to be”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I now live abroad and returned here for the first time since being pregnant with my (21 year old) son. The food and the charm of the place was as excelllent as ever. I ate their pudding with apples, ginger, dried fruits and creme fraiche and was immediately transported back to many visits there with my now late parents. Wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FayAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    317
    144
    120
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An Old Favourite”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very good service and choice of hot foods and salads. Pleasant waiters. I did feel it has lost some of its charm and seemed a little tired on the décor side.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Horrible risotto and untrained staff”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We visited Henderson's recently for dinner having had coffee there earlier in the week. While most of the food was OK at the price the risotto had obviously been made in a batch at the start of the evening with one or two ingredients added to order. As a result it was a mushy mess. My wife couldn't eat it. The waiter obviously noticed it and ignored us. No "is everything OK?". Even when we asked for the bill he just went to take the virtually full plate of food away without any comment. When we said we weren't going to pay for the risotto he just said no-one else had complained and didn't offer any apology. They really should provide some professional training if they are going to have table service for dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RohanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Being a vegetarian, it’s always such a thrill to find a vegetarian restaurant on my travels. I wanted to love this place, but I’m afraid I didn’t. The people behind the counter were not very friendly or helpful about describing what some of the things were. I went with 3 others to the cafeteria style place and only had two salads. One was tasty and I couldn’t eat the other. It’s not all that easy to make vegetables into something I don’t like. I tasted my husband’s lasagna which was ok. My scone for dessert was fine, if ordinary. The place was crowded so we ate at the tiny table outside. We were told the menu was to change that evening, and one of the people I ate with went back to try the Bistro. He seemed pleased. Maybe it was an off day. I had no interest in going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LFK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cafe trying to be a restaurant”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Went here for dinner. Really wanted to like it having heard so much about it. However the service was terrible. The usual cafe style atmosphere was manifested in the really casual and uncertain service. It was also amazingly slow. The food was very mixed. Some was great and other bits were very bland. Good was the Baba Ganoush and the Satay not good was potato cakes and the bean burger

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hendersons Salad Table Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hendersons Salad Table Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing