We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Seafood not just Mussel's”
Review of Mussel Inn

Mussel Inn
Ranked #167 of 2,458 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: The Mussel Inn Seafood Restaurant in Edinburgh is firmly established as one of the city’s most popular restaurants. Located on Rose Street just off Princes Street right in the heart of the buzzing city centre, we are a favourite choice of locals, tourists and business people alike.Mouth-watering, fresh seafood dishes created with top quality ingredients such as mussels, scallops and oysters sourced from Scottish waters, and prepared to the highest standards by our chefs is guaranteed with every visit.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Seafood not just Mussel's”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Had a great dinner with my husband here. He had a Large Mussel Pot and thoroughly enjoyed them. We managed to score a table inside, It was an unusually hot night for Edinburgh. I would recommend a making reservation on a Friday or Saturday night as the place was really busy, but the service was fast and efficent

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,020
    688
    183
    54
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a great lunch...”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a very nice lunch in the streets of Edinburgh. Very tasty mussels in garlic oil and oysters Rockefeller for starter. And the king scallops for main were fantastic. And we even had the weather to sit outside, although I doubt they can guarantee that. Can definitely recommend it, even if it is a bit on the pricier side.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Ended up at the Mussel Inn by accident as we were let down by the restaurant we had planned to visit. On arrival, the outdoor seating was all full and there was a short queue of about 8 people waiting at the door, so we feared we may have a bit of a wait. As it was the Maître D dealt with the queue very efficiently and within 10 mins we were led to our table. Decor, etc in the restaurant is pleasant without being pretentious, and though the tables are quite close together we never felt cramped or felt like we were intruding on anyone else's space. I had a "small" Chowder as my starter, followed by Spicy Fish Stew for my main' and Dinah chose a "large" Chowder as a main course, with no starter. Both of us enjoyed the food very much, and an added bonus was the crusty bread, which is served with the Chowder and is to die for. The waitress was a very pleasant Spanish girl, who ensured we were well served and was very happy to oblige when we asked for a second bread basket. All in all a very pleasant experience, and one I'm happy to recommend. PS: I did notice that while we were eating, the queue outside grew to about 20 people whereas it was gone by the time we left. It's obviously a popular venue and pot luck if you arrive at a good or bad time. You may be able to book a table but we didn't as we were initially planning to go elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TankerBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“New Year Treat”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We have been to Edinburgh's Mussel Inn for two New Year's Eves running. We adore it!

Nothing pretentious, no one over dressed; just fresh, hearty food of a really high quality.

It is a bustling restaurant when full and can be quite noisy and cramped however this is a sure sign of its popularity.

We adore the chowder and the platter dish to share. Get lots of fresh bread on the side as you can't let their delicious sauces go to waste!

Helpful?
Thank Hannahpianaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Great Mussels and sea food”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It was very busy when we arrived so we had a beer in a pub then came back about 9.30pm. The place is basic, with no atmosphere due to a total lack of decoration, but the food and service was great - very friendly staff and well priced seafood dishes. We ordered Mussels and they were great.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mussel Inn also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Mussel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing