We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Firm family favourite!”
Review of Mussel Inn

Mussel Inn
Ranked #166 of 2,527 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: The Mussel Inn Seafood Restaurant in Edinburgh is firmly established as one of the city’s most popular restaurants. Located on Rose Street just off Princes Street right in the heart of the buzzing city centre, we are a favourite choice of locals, tourists and business people alike.Mouth-watering, fresh seafood dishes created with top quality ingredients such as mussels, scallops and oysters sourced from Scottish waters, and prepared to the highest standards by our chefs is guaranteed with every visit.
Livingston
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Firm family favourite!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Have been here more than once while in Edinburgh and it is a firm family favourite for both me and my partner and my 2 kids (11 and 8). They love the staff, the hussle and bussle of the place as it is always busy! The staff are lovely and the food is out of this world good. You can see the kitchen which makes the experience even better and everything is freshly cooked. Great value for what your getting and the unlimited fresh bread and butter is such a perfect touch for soaking up your sauces after your pot of mussels......we all love it and go back often :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonidenise123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,057
    707
    189
    58
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best for Mussels”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I have been here few times now and still wondering if they ever going to make any mistakes...it's the restaurant for special celebration or something but when you fancy some mussels, this is your place. Fresh mussels, different, delicious sauces and crunchy fresh bed. They do a cracking deal for lunch too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KaT_SoM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Reasonable prices!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

You can't book this restaurant over the Fringe because it's so popular; we were told there would be a 30 minutes wait when we queued up but with the table turn over it wasn't much more than 10 minutes.
This isn't a high class restaurant but it's not trying to be so don't go there expecting that, it is however an excellent place to eat seafood for casual dinning. The service is impeccable, and fast but needs to be with its popularity, the dining area isn't massive but is well packed not to too close but close enough.
The food is tasty, well cooked, there is plenty of it, and it's an extremely reasonable price!
Overall if you like Seafood it's a absolute Must Do!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I like the mussel”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This was the 2nd time I was been this restaurant, still fell the food was very nice, I am really like the pot kilo mussels with white wine, emmm~~~ nice. And the price was not so expensive , good!

Helpful?
1 Thank Yue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Okay meal but not the best in town”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had 5 starters between 2 of us for dinner here- was okay but a bit on the small side. The mussels were tiny and the 'queenie' scallops were teeny. The haggis balls had a spicy tomato-y sauce that some would have liked but we did not- and it was dribbled all over them so there was not option but to eat it. Should've had the mussels in a pot- they looked and smelled good from the next table.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank auntietrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mussel Inn also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Mussel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing