We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic French in tourist land” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Paris

Petit Paris
Ranked #66 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Oxshott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic French in tourist land”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

So we got off the bus in Tourist land - it was pouring - so we ran into the first decent restaurant we could see - and just like Narnia - arrived in a French bistro. No room on the ground floor so we ended up in the basement.

Small but functional menu - very tight tables with checkered table cloths - no wine glasses, just chunky water goblets.

But the food was well prepared, and the fish dishes were really well done. Cheese plate at the end had three nice slices of cheese at the right temperature.

A real breath of fresh air in the middle of chain restaurant land - drop by if you;re in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaelmjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    402
    69
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“its good !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

been with friends, we all like the meal and staffs !!! maybe it was too busy , the soup was not good , and took a little longer to be served . will try another time!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Qiang G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wanted tea & cake at 4pm they only doing "lunch"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The place was deserted. Of 30+ tables 2 were occupied. When we sat down at 4pm to order tea & cake we were told only lunch orders being taken. Found a lovely friendly cafe "The Coffee Mill" up the road and gave our money to them....

Helpful?
Thank BristolBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nearest thing to Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have visited this restaurant many many times . Whether as a couple or with friends , we know what to expect.
And , what you can expect is as near to a Paris Bistro as you can get - without actually going to France !
From the "accented" French welcome , to the Bistro menu with typical French fare included, ( not to mention the EXCELLENT & CHEAP ! house wine ), you will be treated with ( French !!! ) courtesy , to a terrific reminder of Paris.
PLEASE - TRY to use a "leetle" Francais - it is appreciated .
In Summer , the outside tables are wonderful , under the trees , but in full sight of the hustle & bustle of the Grassmarket. Other times the indoors tables are cosy , but reservations are a MUST , as this Bistro is VERY popular with lovers of good food & atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brianandavril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great French restaurant in the heart of grassmarket. We stayed at a hotel close by and walked by one night and decided to try it and thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was delicious and the staff were very friendly. They have a small prix fixe menu which we had and it was a great value. We were afraid this would be an overpriced tourist trap type of restaurant but it definitely wasn't and was actually quite the neighborhood gem! Definitely give it a try!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MegM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petit Paris also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Petit Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing