We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tasting menu, very attentive staff, relaxed evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Martin Wishart

Restaurant Martin Wishart
Ranked #21 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$100
Cuisines: French, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent tasting menu, very attentive staff, relaxed evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We enjoyed two different tasting menus and every course was delicious. In particular the souffles were fantastic. I appreciated that they had a full vegetarian tasting menu. The staff were very attentive and were evidently enthusiastic about their food and wine

We enjoyed our courses at a relaxed pace, and there was no pressure to eat quickly which you sometimes encounter at popular restaurants.

Do mention when booking if you are celebrating a special event.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    136
    48
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a great deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I went there for lunch menu (28.5 pounds per person) with my friends. The starter and main course were amazing! The waiter was very friendly and nice. My friend was not used to the smell of "Game Tour" course and he changed it. The only problem was the dessert. It didn't taste good. Overall, it's absolutely worth to go!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyshi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“5 star food......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The tasting menu was absolutely delicious and the matching wines all perfect with the food. The quantity of food and wine was perfect - not always easy when you have 6 courses. In most ways the service was impeccable and very considerate.....but we found it slightly too intrusive and the way the waiter complimented the restaurant's food and seemed to be fishing for compliments was rather annoying. Oddly, the same thing happened when we ate in another similar type of restaurant in Edinburgh. The atmosphere was slightly too hushed for our liking but that is personal taste because it was not really overly formal. It is expensive but the quality of the food and wine justifies the price and a 5 star rating.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, brill flavours and presentation, great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Enjoyed an outstanding meal. Each course was a taste treat and beautifully presented. All the staff were professional and attentive. We had the taster menus, classic for my wife and seafood for me. Both brilliant throughout, without exception. If you want a treat, this is recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R_and_K_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Superb. Every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Before we book our hotel, we book MartinWishart's. It is a long drive from North Yorkshire but we have been visiting here for many years and have never been disappointed. Service is first class, everyone is so welcoming and the food out of this world. Flavour combinations are exciting and so well judged. Everyone here cares about what they are doing and it shows. Fantastic dining experience

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GillWYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Martin Wishart also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Martin Wishart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing