We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Hat”

Restaurant Martin Wishart
Ranked #21 of 2,446 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$102
Cuisines: French, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "toptable Dining Awards 2007 - Runner-up: Best Ambience category

The award-winning Martin Wishart restaurant in Edinburgh 's port of Leith is a stunning fine dining experience not to be missed. The relaxed cream and mocha colour scheme, fresh flowers and flawless service provide the perfect backdrop for the exquisite food. Wishart – who has worked with super-chefs such as Marc Meneau, Albert Roux and Marco Pierre White during his high-profile career – has a dedicated team of eight chefs working overtime to create the restaurant's Michelin-starred modern Scottish menu. We love the lobster and smoked haddock souffle with soubise spinach; the partridge and foie gras with red cabbage and apple sauce; and the roast loin and civet of hare with apple, beetroot, salsafi and black pudding sauce. "
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Hat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Been here 3 times over past 2 years,
This time for my daughters birthday treat.
Everything as you would expect was very well done.
The food ambience and service was excellent.
Though when you pay so much to have the matched wines the sommelier could be a bit more generous than a dribble that barely wets the glass.
£460 for 3 bit on high side.
What irritates is the fact that its always the same menu with very little changing.
I dare say if it aint broke don't fix it but resting on ones laurels that got you a 'star' and sticking to the same old dishes smacks of complacency or lack of imagination.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Altekaker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    140
    50
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“'High class'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wonderful fine-dining, expertly prepared and presented. Only qualms are that it is a very expensive treat and is, perhaps, a little too formal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch, delightful staff, parking a nightmare!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I took my daughter and her boyfriend for lunch last week and we had a very nice lunch for 28.50 per head. The staff are delightful and the waiter remembered my daughter and her boyfriend from two years before, so big brownie points there. The extras one gets on top of what one orders make one feel it is tremendous value. Above and beyond what we ordered from the lunch menu we had delicious beetroor and horseradish amuse bouches, then a trio of further delicious little things including prawns and pork and foam etc. Extraordinary depth of flavour to everything as one would expect of a Michelin starred restaurant. My daughter and I started with the guinea fowl mousse, which was exquisite and beautifully presented. Her boyfriend had the salmon ravioli which looked delicate and tasty. To follow we had bouillabaisse, and rabbit. We were very jealous of my daughter's rabbit ensemble, not only did it taste sublime but there was enough of it. The bouillabaisse was unfortunately a disappointment. Two very small cubes of very nice succulent white fish, but the whole dish was not at all reminiscent of a true bouillabaisse (and living by the sea I make one regularly with whatever the fishermen can offer me). The fish sat on a bed of some pureed vegetable that tasted of nothing, and the added rouille also lacked the depth and flavour one would expect. In fact it appeared to be just a saffron mayonnaise, rather than the gutsy chilli/garlic based one one would expect when offered a rouille in France. The soup/stock added to the dish at the table also lacked any depth. After all the other lovely treats this was a major flavour fail. But - the rabbit dish was really good. The desserts we tried were a chocolate delice and the passion fruit creation, all really very lovely. I was very tempted by the cheese board, which looked out of this world, and, listening in to the neighbouring table, an education in itself. I decided to save that experience for next time. All in all , a very nice lunch, with only one low note. Oh - well another slight low note - as an interior designer, the décor is very bland and predictable, and the carpet a disaster (shows every mark, and is really showing its age), . Would love to help them with a revamp, could be so much nicer, and could actually reflect the interesting surroundings and textures of the canal and docks. One could be sitting in an airport lounge as it is currently.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Cauliflower Puree....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I drove 4 hours from Leeds to have lunch at Martin Wishart and the long drive was worth it just for the spoonful of cauliflower puree in the amuse bouche. What's fantastic about this restaurant is the option for a vegetarian tasting menu. It's not fair that the meat eaters get to have all the fun and I really appreciated how much effort is put into cooking for vegetarians as well as meat-eaters.

This was also the best service we've ever had with the most attentive, friendly and knowledgable staff we've ever seen.

If a dinner is hard to book, try opting for lunch. If you go, definitely do not forgo the cheese.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a table at Restaurant Martin Wishart for my partners birthday. The whole experience was fabulous. Chris had an issue with gluten and the staff were really helpful in helping choose and altering dishes so that they were gluten free. We had the 5 course tasting menu and an extra course of cheese. The food was delicious. Service was fantastic. Thank you.

Helpful?
1 Thank helsbels111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Martin Wishart also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Restaurant Martin Wishart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing