We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awsome food good service”
Review of The Basement

The Basement
Ranked #420 of 2,456 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: The Basement Bar and Restaurant is a genuine Edinburgh institution, long favoured by locals and found by savvy travellers. Serving traditional Mexican food & a carefully chosen drinks list with creative cocktails and a fantastic beer selection. It is advisable to book if you are looking to dine as tables always seem to be busy in the restaurant area, however the same menu is served throughout the bar.
2 reviews
“Awsome food good service”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Very good and fast service, the waitress made the guacamole right in front of us. Awsome food good price.

Helpful?
Thank Gergely B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBasementBar, Manager at The Basement, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Gergely,

It's always good to hear positive feedback so thanks for taking the time to review us. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope you will be back to see us soon.

The Basement team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    137
    60
    25
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“not been there in a while - very pleased with new look and menu”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have been to the basement many times, since the days of the Hawaiian shirts were on the go and the chef called the servers with a duck call. However, we had not been since it was given an overhaul and I have to say, we were very pleased with our evening . The decor is really good, seating very welcoming and the "herbs" in pots along the wall had me good and proper ;-) The menu for us as Vegetarians was superb and we were able to take items from the various parts of the menu to please our tastes. I have to say, the Frijoles or beans with cheese was scrummy - I could have eaten that all by itself instead of a side order ! Service was excellent and welcoming.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank humptymcdumpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBasementBar, Manager at The Basement, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi there,

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and glad to hear that you liked what we have done with the place since the refurb.

We hope to see you again very soon.

The Basement team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Mexican!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is the first time we have been back since the refurb. We thought it was good before but the menu is now purely Mexican. Everything was delicious but we ordered way too much. A couple of the small dishes to share then mains. Big mistake. Would have been better with 4 smalls to share or just mains. It was properly authentic and we will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edinburgh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBasementBar, Manager at The Basement, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review us.

We're so happy to hear that you like what we have done with the refurb, and glad you enjoyed your visit to us.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again very soon.

Thanks again

The Basement team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food and drink!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We popped in for a midweek lunch. Staff were wonderful, friendly and engaged. The food was very tasty, really loved the corn on the cob especially: I was initially disappointed by the portion sizes but it filled us up. We had cocktails, including one with limoncello and elderflower that was sublime. Would definitely visit again and recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBasementBar, Manager at The Basement, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Scott,

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Please do come visit us again and try some more of our delicious cocktails.

Thanks again

The Basement team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tucked away gem”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

If you head down the steps to the basement you will find an outside seating area with fairy lights which also has an undercover section so it is quite sheltered. Wine comes in unusual 'goblet' type glasses! A great atmosphere in the evening.

Helpful?
Thank Padburygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBasementBar, Manager at The Basement, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to the basement and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks again
The Basement team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Basement also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Basement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing