We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience from start to finish”
Review of Tower Restaurant

Tower Restaurant
Ranked #269 of 2,506 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$58
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Perched above the sandstone-clad landmark Museum of Scotland, spectacular views of Edinburgh's Castle and city skyline feature on the menu of James Thomson's stunning rooftop restaurant. Sleek and stylish, the Tower is designed to impress and has become a must-see for A-list celebrities and visitors to Scotland, as well as its loyal local clientele. The Tower's extensive menu always features the best available seasonal ingredients, with Argyll oysters, local seafood, seasonal game, Angus beef and lamb impeccably sourced and simply prepared in the Tower's signature relaxed and unfussy style. The restaurant's reputation for creating outstanding gourmet food inspired a rash of complimentary reviews and recommendations in the Good Food Guide, the AA, Taste of Scotland, Fodor's, Frommer's and Michelin Guides among many others.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great experience from start to finish”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal in The Tower Restaurant. The views are beautiful and the staff were all incredibly attentive and friendly. The food was excellent quality, it is pricey but you definitely get what you pay for. We had a lovely, relaxing evening and we would definitely return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sophie0986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    355
    212
    129
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food ok, nice views”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The service was nice, the food was good but not amazing, bit overpriced. You should go at dusk in order to take a couple of amazing pictures of the castle. Best place for pics is the balcony so make sure you ask someone to let you go outside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hen party afternoon tea!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

To end our fabulous hen party we stopped off at the tower for afternoon tea! There were 15 of us and the tower were very accommodating! We arrived early as we had to catch our train home but they were ready for us! The service was amazing and the afternoon tea was very good value! Will definitely return next time we are In the city! Xxx

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blythgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food is ok”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Food was ok but a bit overpriced. I had the boeuf bourginon which was good but I've certainly tasted better from other restaurants in Edinburgh. Service was what let it down very slowly a bit snobby. Decor was nothing special and since it was raining our view was standard. For the price I expected a lot more and certainly the tower's sister restaurant is of a far superior nature.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First class food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Having been booked in by our concierge we arrived at the tower at around 9.30. The place was buzzing and the service was quick and friendly. The meal was faultless. Inspired food cooked well. Not the cheapest but this was to be expected at the quality. All 3 courses and wine were delicious and as we were the last to leave we never felt rushed nor uncomfortable in doing so. To be honest I couldn't pull them up on anything. Great place, great food, delicious. A must try.

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tower Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tower Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing