We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tours with Paws was FUNTASTIC!!!”

Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours
Ranked #3 of 265 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours provides affordable private and bespoke walking tours of Scotland's capital city. All tours led by a knowledgeable and experienced local tour guide. Booking ONLY available directly through my website, for the best price and best service, guaranteed!
Reviewed 30 October 2015

Booked two tours with Edinburgh Expert and both were absolutely wonderful!
We had two nights to "do" Scotland and so the first afternoon of our arrival, Gareth and delightful French Bulldog Monty met up with my daughter and I and took us on a wonderful walkabout around Edinburgh.
We were treated to fantastic views along with awesome commentary - and even enjoyed meeting other four-legged Scots during our journey! A most wonderful way to get to know the city in a short period of time!
We can both highly recommend this tour company.
(Also did the most-awesome Lowlands Grand Tour the next day - will review that separately.)

Date of experience: October 2015
3  Thank JoyT668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Thank you so much - we thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and showing off our home! Monty sends you both his love! Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"french bulldog"
in 18 reviews
"private walking tour"
in 11 reviews
"hour tour"
in 21 reviews
"great tour"
in 27 reviews
"old town"
in 36 reviews
"historical photos"
in 6 reviews
"jeffrey street"
in 4 reviews
"royal mile"
in 30 reviews
"ins and outs"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 15 reviews
"perfect introduction"
in 4 reviews
"personal tour"
in 6 reviews
"hour walk"
in 4 reviews
"small group"
in 11 reviews
"past and present"
in 3 reviews
"ask questions"
in 6 reviews
"friendly guide"
in 3 reviews
Filter

277 - 281 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2015

Gareth met us at our hotel with his dog Monty, and he provided an excellent walking tour of Edinburgh. My husband and friends had just gotten off their planes from the USA; the tour provided a perfect way to begin their visit. Gareth followed up with an email providing restaurant, pub, walking, historical sites to visit, etc; we used his email as the basis for the next day and a half. All great recommendations. The Dogs, Whighams, Stockbridge Tap, Holyroodhouse, Author's Seat, and the horses.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank PendOreille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Thank you for your kind words, I'm really pleased you found the suggestions and recommendations useful - it was great for Monty and I to spend a little time with you all and show off our city! Best wishes, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

The tour was fantastic and full of interesting facts. Gareth is a great guide and the three hours was very well spent. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Very many thanks for your feedback, I'm really pleased to have been able to show you a little of the city during your stay. Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

2 Hour Walking tour of Edinburgh

Start Point King's Stables Road - bottom of the steps

leading to the Castle - at the end of Grassmarket

Our tour guide was Gareth who had spent 16 years

in the City with experience of working at the Castle

The tour covered the main points of interest in the City

Gareth explained the developmrnt of Edinburgh as a City

- he highlighted and contrasred the differences between the old city

and the new city development

He was very interesting - whilst not being two heavy on data and dates

We used the back streets , steps and alley ways to avoid the throngs in the City for the

Fringe festival

The highlight of the tour was the walk up to Calton Tower to see the panaramic

views of the City and surrounding areas

Gareth summed up the walk from this point and it was easy to follow our walking route

around Edinburgh 2 hours from our high vantage point

The Forth Brige, the Forth, North Sea, Arthur's Seat, the Crag were all very

visible on the lovely clear day.

At £14 per person it was good value - and if you have Scottish blood take advantage of the 2 for 1 , early in the Fringe Festival

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank canaryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

tried with friends/colleagues last week.
Gareth is a very well prepared guide. He took us to a walk on the royal mile, around the castle and down to Princes Street garden.
extremely knowledgeable, very interesting/unusual/fun anecdotes and fact that you cannot find in the usual guides.
he always take with himself a tablet that use to show you the old pictures of Edinburgh 1800/1900: very interesting seeing how much or how little the city changed with present live in front of your eyes and past on a tablet. really cool.
we asked a lot of question and he was able to answer all our curiosity. definitely call home again when my family will come to visit me :)
highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank GaiaEdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing