We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas with Monty! and Gareth”

Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours
Ranked #3 of 239 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours provides affordable private and bespoke walking tours of Scotland's capital city, as well as unique personalised visitor information packages. All tours led by a knowledgeable and experienced local tour guide.
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Our family took a 3-hour walking tour with Gareth through the City of Edinburgh. Gareth is very knowledgeable about Edinburgh and Scotland history. He was able to deliver the right amount of information to us, not too much and not to boring. As a bonus, he brought along his young protégé, Monty the Bulldog. Not sure who had more fun, us or Monty! It was great that he brought Monty along at our request as we were missing our puppies too on our long Europe trip. Gareth was exactly what we needed while we were in Edinburgh visiting to learn the City and he was spot on with his advice when asked for. He is a very personable individual yet professional who enjoys discussing history. Spend the money, hire Gareth and it will be the best money you spend on learning about Edinburgh. Ask for Monty the Bulldog. He will make you feel like a local.

Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such kind feedback - we had a great time showing you around the city, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Edinburgh too. Monty hopes your dogs were pleased to see you when you got home! Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"french bulldog"
in 15 reviews
"private walking tour"
in 7 reviews
"great tour"
in 21 reviews
"hour tour"
in 15 reviews
"old town"
in 28 reviews
"historical photos"
in 5 reviews
"jeffrey street"
in 4 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 13 reviews
"royal mile"
in 24 reviews
"personal tour"
in 6 reviews
"perfect introduction"
in 4 reviews
"small group"
in 11 reviews
"ask questions"
in 6 reviews
"past and present"
in 3 reviews
"whiskey tasting"
in 5 reviews
"two hours"
in 9 reviews
"better understanding"
in 3 reviews
Filter

149 - 153 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Gareth is a truly knowledge and engaging guide! He makes the effort to show the hidden gems not typically covered in the tourist circuit and focuses on any items that are of particular interest to you. He was able to answer any question I had. He was timely with his correspondence responses as well. I would highly recommend Gareth to anyone looking for a high quality tour of Edinburgh.

Thank Skywalker_1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for such lovely feedback - it was absolutely my pleasure to show you around the city, and we got so lucky with the weather! Safe travels for the rest of your trip, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

For a couple who has done similar tours in other cities around the world we can emphatically state that Gareth offers THE best tour we have experienced. His knowledge and ability to communicate made our visit to Edinburgh both informative and entertaining.

We booked ahead - Gareth promptly provided plentiful and useful information prior to our arrival - tailoring the pace and content of the day to our interests. One of the things we enjoyed most were the historical photos of certain landmarks that Gareth shared using his iPad.

Many, many thanks for an extraordinary and enlightening day - the dining and shopping recommendations were spot on too!

Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback! I'm really pleased you had a good day, and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the city too - it was absolutely my pleasure to show you around! Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Our family of 5 recently had a great tour with Gareth and Monte. It was the very first thing we did when we landed in Edinburgh. Gareth was very accommodating and met us right at our hotel near Old Town. We enjoyed the walk (two hours), fresh air and history very much. Gareth is very knowledgeable and fun. Monte, the awesome French bulldog was a bonus! I had wanted to end the tour with some whisky tasting somewhere as our family includes 3 grown sons. Gareth also set that up for us at the end of our walking tour. It was fantastic---both the lesson in whisky making, and, of course, the whisky!

Thank TallieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback - it was absolutely our pleasure to show you around the city, and we had a lot of fun with you guys too! Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

The 'free' tours on offer are tempting, but in our experience you often end up in a crowd of 30 or so and don't get the chance to ask all the questions you'd like. Gareth limits numbers to 10 so there's time for everyone to interact with him. His knowledge is extensive and his commentary is entertaining and full of interesting information. Being dog lovers we'd asked him to bring Monty along, which added to the fun.

Thank alanrwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

I'm so pleased you enjoyed the small group experience, thank you for your lovely feedback, and for joining the tour! Monty and I had a great time too! Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing