We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent day out

First - Gareth is a gentleman. We accidentally booked our tour 2 weeks too early, and Gareth turned... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Powerbrokers
,
Melbourne, Australia
Great walking tour of the Old Town

As part of my 60th birthday celebrations I wanted to organise a walking tour of Edinburgh for my... read more

Reviewed 8 January 2019
Oakviewstu
,
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Read all 309 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Edinburgh
from US$15.66
More Info
from US$16.97
More Info
from US$22.19
More Info
from US$16.07
More Info
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
296
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
296
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french bulldog private walking tour hour tour old town great tour historical photos jeffrey street royal mile ins and outs his knowledge perfect introduction personal tour hour walk small group past and present ask questions friendly guide
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2017

It was rainy, windy and cold, but we still had a great time! Gareth is the best! Very interesting and funny. Definitely go on this tour!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your lovely feedback - it was my pleasure to show you a bit of the city, even in the rain...! Best wishes, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

I definitely suggest taking this tour early in your visit to Edinburgh to get a good overview of things you may want to see at length later on. Unfortunately, it rained very hard during our tour, but Gareth's good humor helped a lot. He even loaned us his umbrella - and was very gracious about getting soaked! He's a charming guy with excellent insights into the city and a wealth of information. He took us through some areas that were used in the next season of "Outlander." Can't wait to see these areas on film!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank KAMartin911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you so much for coming on the tour, and for your lovely feedback - seeing Edinburgh in the rain gives it a certain (damp) charm, and so I'm glad you didn't feel it was just a wash out! Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We only had a limited amount of time to see Edinburgh – we took the train over from Glasgow for the day – and we wanted to make the most of it. After studying the TripAdvisor reviews, we decided that Gareth’s company sounded like the best option and signed up for his Old and New Town small group walking tour. Good decision! This exposed us to some of the major tourist attractions, but also took us to many interesting places that we never would have found on our own.

One of the major benefits of Gareth’s tours is that they are limited to a maximum of ten guests (there were a total of 8 in our group). As we passed by several huge groups, we felt so fortunate to be among Gareth’s intimate fold. It was nice to be able to hear him easily and to be able to ask questions along the way. The tour was well-paced; I am not in the best of shape but had no trouble keeping up even on the steeper terrain. Gareth has a warm, approachable personality that makes the experience comfortable and fun – like being shown the sights by a local friend. And he has a wealth of knowledge about and passion for this special city. The price is very reasonable, too – you definitely get your money’s worth. We were extremely pleased with our tour, and so glad that we chose to see Edinburgh with Gareth.

Date of experience: April 2017
6  Thank VOYJEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback - I'm glad the small group allowed you to get a more personal tour experience, and it was absolutely my pleasure to give you this brief introduction to the city! Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We visited Scotland for the first time in early May. My wife and I stayed in Edinburgh for a few days before heading off to the Highlands, so we had little time to explore the marvelous city. Accordingly, we booked a walking tour with Garth's to learn important, historical information about Edinburgh. Garth certainly knows Edinburgh.

We booked a tour with Garth before leaving for Scotland. He responded quickly, and actively solicited our input about what we wanted for our tour -- much appreciated.

His tour is definitely worthwhile.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank PetouFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Thanks for your lovely feedback - I'm really glad you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh, and I hope you had as much fun on the rest of your trip! Best wishes, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Under Gareth's wonderful guidance, we completed the 'Old and New Town' and the 'Royal Mile' walking tours yesterday. Gareth's knowledge is fantastic and he gives a great insight to parts of Edinburgh which are slightly off the well-worn tourist trails. Gareth is a very pleasant and knowledgeable person, with a quirky sense of humour. We completed both tours on the same day and found that was very doable - it won't kill you! We explored many of the side streets, closes, wynds- certainly we would not have wandered into these amazing spaces without Gareth's guidance. Yes, we covered the Royal Mile, but in a very pleasant way - without having to push and shove our ways through the crowds. In summary, we strongly recommend Gareth's walking tours as they give an insight into Edinburgh that you do not find in the guide books - Gareth's knowledge of the history of Edinburgh was brilliant. Thank you Gareth for a very pleasant and informative day . Ray & Pam

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank YoungAckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Very many thanks to both of you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your tours, and thanks of course for joining me for both routes! I'm so pleased you enjoyed the experience, and I hope you enjoyed the rest of time in the city just as much. Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews