We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended walk with Gareth”

Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours
Ranked #3 of 249 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours provides affordable private and bespoke walking tours of Scotland's capital city, as well as unique personalised visitor information packages. All tours led by a knowledgeable and experienced local tour guide.
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We booked Gareth for a 2-hours tour of Edinburgh and appreciated his easygoing but very professional attitude. It was fun and at the same time fascinating- all those interesting and sometimes baffling stories about the architectural and cultural development of this city.
Gareth more or less immediately takes up on one's direction of interest. We also found the support by old plans and maps in his tablet which he shows "on site" absolutely helpful.
Thank you, Gareth, we loved the experience!
Birgit

Thank BirgitAlraune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for such lovely feedback - it was my pleasure to give you a short introduction to the city! Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"french bulldog"
in 12 reviews
"hour tour"
in 17 reviews
"private walking tour"
in 7 reviews
"historical photos"
in 5 reviews
"old town"
in 26 reviews
"great tour"
in 19 reviews
"jeffrey street"
in 4 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 13 reviews
"royal mile"
in 25 reviews
"small group"
in 11 reviews
"personal tour"
in 5 reviews
"perfect introduction"
in 3 reviews
"hour walk"
in 3 reviews
"ask questions"
in 6 reviews
"past and present"
in 3 reviews
"whiskey tasting"
in 5 reviews
"two hours"
in 9 reviews
Filter

107 - 111 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017

We did this tour last weekend and were lucky enough to be the only people on the tour. It was excellent, Gareth was very informative and made it very interesting we learned things about Edinburgh and history that were surprising. Would thoroughly recommend this tour

Thank vivconjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thanks for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the walk and were surprised by the city! Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We took a 4 hour walking tour with Gareth and his dog Monty on October 16th. My mother and I had never been to Edinburgh before - let alone Scotland - so we were anxious to dive right into all the history. In short, we had a great time. Gareth is a wealth of information, and has this way of bringing Edinburgh seemingly to your fingertips. We had about a day or so to spend in the city itself, so we were hankering for a full, inclusive walking tour, and it did not disappoint. Monty was such a trooper in the rain, it was great to have him along! Next time we head to Edinburgh, Gareth is our first call to explore more of the city. Wear good walking shoes, prepare for any weather, and let him take care of the rest! You won't be disappointed."

2  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thanks for such lovely feedback - Monty and I had a great time showing off the city to you (in spite of the weather!) and we hope you were inspired to explore it further by yourselves. Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

My family and I took a small private walking tour with Gareth and Monte. It was delightful! Gareth was extremely knowledgeable about the city, and Monte was an adorable addition to the tour. We would highly recommend Gareth for your tour in Edinburgh.

Sharon - Forest, VA

Thank 1HokieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely feedback - we had a lot of fun showing off the city to you, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Edinburgh too! Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing