We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent, customized tour!

We were seeking a private walking tour by someone who was informed about fascinating details of... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed yesterday
jlymorris
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Perfect tour of Edinburgh

A highly recommended tour. Gareth joined us for a fascinating trip around the town, highlighting... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 1 week ago
Ajdoel
Read all 430 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Edinburgh
from US$56.82
More Info
from US$207.07
More Info
from US$20.31
More Info
from US$75.51
More Info
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
422
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
422
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour tour private walking tour old town great tour royal mile hour walk his knowledge informative tour town tour city's history funny stories four hours nooks and crannies gareth information interests pace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017

I have been in Edinburgh many times as a long-term visitor (we lived there most of a year). A private guided tour is really the best way to get into the history and interesting tidbits if you have the time. When my husband and I returned to visit Edinburgh after many years, we hired Gareth who customized our tour to cover places and topics interesting to us. Some info was a refresher course, and some details we hadn't heard explained before. He enjoys what he does, and is good at it. We spent 3 hours with Gareth, had lunch, then did a bus tour (hop-on, hop-off) in the afternoon to rest our feet. Gareth knew we had the bus tour scheduled, and having been a tour guide for the bus tours, he knew how to plan our walking tour to be different from what we would hear on the bus. Once we had booked our tour through EEWT, Gareth immediately set up private email communication to help us prepare for our visit to Scotland. He advised us on how to get into the city from our hotel, even which train to take, where to catch the train, and he met us as we got off the train. Super easy to connect with him. If you aren't familiar with Scotland, be sure to ask him for helpful tips, like how to dress for the weather, what public toilets cost, when NOT to use an umbrella, where to eat, and whatever you want. He answered all our logistical questions, and was available to advise us throughout the rest of our week in Scotland. If you aren't able to schedule a personal tour, check out his recorded audio tours for download.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank 902kathrync
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for such lovely feedback from your tour! It was my pleasure to welcome you back to Edinburgh, and I'm really pleased you enjoyed getting reacquainted with the city. Glad you found the information service useful too, and thanks for your kind recommendations! Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We booked Gareth for a 2-hours tour of Edinburgh and appreciated his easygoing but very professional attitude. It was fun and at the same time fascinating- all those interesting and sometimes baffling stories about the architectural and cultural development of this city.
Gareth more or less immediately takes up on one's direction of interest. We also found the support by old plans and maps in his tablet which he shows "on site" absolutely helpful.
Thank you, Gareth, we loved the experience!
Birgit

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank BirgitAlraune
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for such lovely feedback - it was my pleasure to give you a short introduction to the city! Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We did this tour last weekend and were lucky enough to be the only people on the tour. It was excellent, Gareth was very informative and made it very interesting we learned things about Edinburgh and history that were surprising. Would thoroughly recommend this tour

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank vivconjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thanks for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the walk and were surprised by the city! Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We went on a walking tour with Gareth. He was an excellent guide and we enjoyed the tour immensely. We would highly recommend this tour !!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank bts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We took a 4 hour walking tour with Gareth and his dog Monty on October 16th. My mother and I had never been to Edinburgh before - let alone Scotland - so we were anxious to dive right into all the history. In short, we had a great time. Gareth is a wealth of information, and has this way of bringing Edinburgh seemingly to your fingertips. We had about a day or so to spend in the city itself, so we were hankering for a full, inclusive walking tour, and it did not disappoint. Monty was such a trooper in the rain, it was great to have him along! Next time we head to Edinburgh, Gareth is our first call to explore more of the city. Wear good walking shoes, prepare for any weather, and let him take care of the rest! You won't be disappointed."

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth D, Owner at Edinburgh Expert Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thanks for such lovely feedback - Monty and I had a great time showing off the city to you (in spite of the weather!) and we hope you were inspired to explore it further by yourselves. Safe travels, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews