We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent day out

First - Gareth is a gentleman. We accidentally booked our tour 2 weeks too early, and Gareth turned... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Powerbrokers
,
Melbourne, Australia
Great walking tour of the Old Town

As part of my 60th birthday celebrations I wanted to organise a walking tour of Edinburgh for my... read more

Reviewed 8 January 2019
Oakviewstu
,
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Read all 310 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Edinburgh
from US$64.66
More Info
from US$39.59
More Info
from US$48.82
More Info
from US$55.42
More Info
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
296
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
296
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french bulldog private walking tour hour tour old town great tour historical photos jeffrey street royal mile ins and outs his knowledge perfect introduction personal tour hour walk small group past and present ask questions friendly guide
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

I’ve been traveling Europe for over 15 years and Gareth is one of the best guides I have ever used. His knowledge and personality will be enjoyed by anyone of any age. He takes you on a journey that helps you see the ‘main sites’ but also knows the little ‘extras’ to make his tour wonderful. If you need a guide in Edinburgh, use Gareth

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank fudd43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

We can't praise Gareth highly enough. We left the tour entirely in his hands and it couldn't have been better. Gareth showed us so many things that we would have missed as just a normal tourist without a guide. We had our two dogs with us and Gareth made sure he structured the tour to accommodate the dogs and the restrictions they held. We learnt so much about this beautiful City, which hopefully we won't forget. We will definitely be returning. Gareth made us feel very relaxed and he was happy to answer all our questions.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank MarkU8108MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Thank you Gareth for showing us the beautiful sights in Edinburgh. We enjoyed your enthusiasm and expertise - we had a lovely time!!! - Daniels family

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Daniella142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We had a morning tour with Gareth and learned so much about Edinburgh. We walked from our hotel in the New Town up Calton Hill for an overview of the city, then down back roads to Holyrood Palace. We saw the tomb of Adam Smith (“A wealth of Nations”), the gardens in the lower part of the Royal Mile, and the closes and wynds all along the way. He pointed out architectural oddities and explained the growth of the city, which was fascinating!

Gareth is a font of information and truly helped us to understand the city. Highly recommended!!!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank lovetootrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Gareth is the encyclopaedia of Edinburgh! He is so informative and having Monty along was so much fun! He took me to areas I wouldn’t never have discovered on my own. If you’re travelling solo, don’t discover Edinburgh without booking Gareth!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews