We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whiskey, whiskey everywhere! and a lot of drams to drink.”

a room in the west end and Teuchters bar
Reserve with OpenTable
a room in the west end and Teuchters bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #302 of 2,479 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Cracking bar and separate bistro in the heart of Edinburgh's Georgian west end.Very popular with locals sampling local craft beers, malt whiskies and world wines. Everything is prepared freshly in the restaurant using locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff will look after you. You'll be glad you found us and won't want to leave. Open for breakfast in the bar, lunch and dinner. Famous for watching the rugby!!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whiskey, whiskey everywhere! and a lot of drams to drink.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

To put my lack of knowledge about whiskey's into perspective, i didn't know what a 'dram' was until i came to this place. Then i never wanted to leave the company of a dram again (if i can say that without getting referred to a counsellor). Great staff, very knowledgable and i had a ripper of a time. Miss this when i head back to Oz. Oh only didn't score it higher because i didn't try food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johhnono1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    122
    30
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Hadn't been to this eaterie for many years but glad to report that it is still a great place to meet up and catch up,with friends. It still allows you to,BYOB which always helps with the bill at the end. There was a good choice of food on the menu and we enjoyed a lovely three course lunch for a very reasonable price.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Wanting to watch the rugby in a pub atmosphere we decided to have lunch before the match. A lovely meal although nearly getting hit on the head by the boards hanging on the wall wasn't the best end!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAnn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would return”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Visited here on sat night with my friends. We opted for the set meal 3 courses & coffee for £24.95. Its byob so it was all great value for money. The food was excellent and I loved the banoffie pie. Some of my friends had the raspberry creme brulee and all of them didnt like this as was very 'jammy' rather than fresh raspberry. But that was the only criticism, would definitely return and staff were great !

Helpful?
Thank shazplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great bar to lose a few hours in....”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I almost don't want to write this review...I love my afternoon trips to Teutchters Bar during my soujorns to the city - a little quiet afternoon sanctuary in the west end just off the throbbing Princess Street and Lothian Road! I urge you to seek it out! The warm cosy bar is so inviting, the staff are always charming and the food - especially the "Mug Menu" of Haggis Stovies, Mac cheese, Cullen Skink is good value, proper old comfort food...tip top chips too (and we all know chips maketh the bar!)

On this visit I shared my secret...so this wasn't a usual visit with Cullen Skink, A large NZ Sauv Blanc (there are 17 wines by the glass on offer) and a good book, the former where still partaken of but the good book made way for good company. I'm now able to report that the venison hot dogs are also really good as is the selection of ales and the warmth of the welcome still up there with the toastiness of the room.

Highly recommended and even though I didn't try it the evening menu looks grand...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed a room in the west end and Teuchters bar also viewed

 

Been to a room in the west end and Teuchters bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing