We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar with good food”

a room in the west end and Teuchters bar
Reserve with OpenTable
a room in the west end and Teuchters bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #302 of 2,479 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Cracking bar and separate bistro in the heart of Edinburgh's Georgian west end.Very popular with locals sampling local craft beers, malt whiskies and world wines. Everything is prepared freshly in the restaurant using locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff will look after you. You'll be glad you found us and won't want to leave. Open for breakfast in the bar, lunch and dinner. Famous for watching the rugby!!
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great bar with good food”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Glad we went to this pub for something to eat, as the lunch was very nice. I ended up having a tasty Mac and cheese served in a large mug, which was something of a novelty. Good selection of draught beers on offer too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MickeyThePikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    122
    30
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
451 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Awesome local pub”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our B&B recommended this place and it was right around corner, so we went and it was perfect. The bartenders were knowledgeable and friendly. Being beer drinkers, they helped us select several flights of Scotch. It was cool to see the traditional hand pumps for their local beers. We talked to a couple locals from the neighborhood and even a soldier stationed in Edinburgh. We didn't have a chance to eat there, but hopefully we will be back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Room For Improvement”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Menu has little choice and is, in the opinion of the friends I ate with, overpriced in comparison to similar on offer elsewhere.
Service was not up to standard, the chicken dish was dry and the tartlet starter more of an amuse bouche - ok maybe three mouthfuls. Go elsewhere

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palescottishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
164 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Friendly service and a good Pub meal”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had booked as a group and arrived early, but there was no problem. The Menu choices were taken efficiently and food arrived in good time. It was a very Scottish Menu, so for me difficult, but everyone else enjoyed their meal. Not expensive and the service was very good

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kachanovka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good traditional food and great value”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a most tasty meal, brought our own wine and thoroughly enjoyed our evening in a room in the west end. I would certainly return and service was excellent. The only reason i was one star short of top rating is because my husband didnt like being downstairs. I had no issue with that and liked the atmosphere both upstairs and downstairs. Very friendly staff, good menu choice and really good food

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary-b-clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed a room in the west end and Teuchters bar also viewed

 

Been to a room in the west end and Teuchters bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing