We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best in Town”

Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant
Ranked #226 of 2,479 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$83
Cuisines: European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: With the scenery of Edinburgh Castle and the Firth of Forth, the Forth Floor Restaurant at Harvey Nichols certainly has a sense of drama about it. The stylish elements of the decor, such as the circular lights which begin to glow red once the sky becomes darker, and the Scottish flavours found through the restaurant menu all inspire an adventurous dining experience with the finest quality food. Meanwhile, the brasserie makes for an enjoyable alternative, presenting a modern take on conventional European cuisine, and the extensive wine list includes over 350 different varieties of wines and champagnes. During the summer months, it is also possible to enjoy meals outside on the large terrace, overlooking all of Edinburgh.
linlithgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Town”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Whether you eat in the Brasserie or in the main restaurant you will find that you will enjoy great food, experience smashing views and experience brilliant service.

We dine in both restaurants pretty regularly and without fail are always thanked for coming back and made to feel important by some really nice people.

The food is always consistently good and is right up there with the best Edinburgh has to offer.

If you haven't tried it yet get there soon. You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank steelbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    300
    119
    58
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“fabulous meal with a great view”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We booked a special 3 course dinner with a cocktail which was a bargain at £30. Wasn't expecting too much but it turned out to be a real experience with excellent food served with panache. The quality and choice of food was top quality and we had plenty of time to relax and sip our proscecco as we enjoyed our meal. Thanks to all the staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dorvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Possibly overrated”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Very chic and modern decor with a lovely view of the city! I have always been to the bar so I can not comment on the food. Drinks are similarly priced to that of all bars on George street so maybe best suited when you are enjoying a day out/one off treat. I find the bar area a little small, however, I like it snug and the sofas make you feel comfortable. Service is somewhat disappointing, rather slow and staff can be quite miserable and snooty ( not every time I have visited). Last week when I visited I wasn't given a napkin or straw which is a basic, especially in a department store which portrays a professional image. I would recommend and I will be visiting again, but I feel there are better bars in Edinburgh.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Everything !”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our second visit to "Forth Floor". This time we chose the special deal of £30 for three courses with a cocktail on arrival which is fantastic value for money. There are many things that make dining here special including the views, the friendly and efficient service and the standard and quality of the food which included not only the menu items but also special little treats between courses - all of which were delicious.

I'd very much recommend a visit and we will definitely be back !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Composer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
451 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Champagne cocktails!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place is so good that when we went there were people sitting on the floor enjoying their cocktails. You can get a small snack and wet your whistle while shopping. The service was very good given how busy it was and we were very impressed with the quality and variety of champagne cocktails.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThatchersBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Harvey Nichols Forth Floor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing