We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food!”

Rhubarb - The Restaurant at Prestonfield
Ranked #64 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$44 - US$63
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Minimalists and speed-eaters, avert your eyes. Rhubarb has arrived in all its opulent, theatrical, lingering glory. Set in twenty acres of gorgeous parkland yet a short drive from the Royal Mile, Rhubarb and its hotel home, Prestonfield, are the creation of James Thomson, who bought you the Witchery and Tower restaurants. A black-kilted porter escorts you to Rhubarb's two oval Regency dining rooms decorated in mad baroque splendour, with giant chandeliers, silk wall coverings, and ancestral portraits. The menu, created by chef John McMahon, uses classic techniques and modern inspiration to transform ingredients sourced from small artisan suppliers into sublime grub. Try starter of Gewurztraminer poached foie gras au tronchon with pickled cherries, main course of breast of Loue chicken on tarragon risotto, and top it with the signature assiette of rhubarb desserts. There are more than five hundred wines to choose from, and more than one hundred malts. Linger after your meal in the Leather or Tapestry room and let your senses swoon.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab food!”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The food was fab and the service second-to-none! The restaurant itself was beautiful and certainly made a lovely venue to celebrate a special occasion.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    119
    50
    34
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food, stunning surroundings, great service”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We ate here when visiting our son who is at the University. I last ate here when I worked for the Scotch Whisky Association in the 1980s. I remembered it as classic with fantastic food. It lived up to the memory, the decor is stunning, the service was excellent and the food was incredible. The wines are expensive, but lovely. The food was worth every penny. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gr45452016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I didnt order from the £30 menu and my food was incredible, scallops and duck were fantastic. Unfortunately my boyfriend had the beef option which was very tough and chewy and a world apart from mine so I had to share a little bit with him! OTherwise excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“a must to dine and stay if possible”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

we have travled all over the world and eaten at a lot of wonderful places. But this goes down as one of the most memorable. As we got out of the taxi, bagpipes were playing. i was so amazed when we walked through the door-like entering somebodys special castle. We had cocktails in the leather room(exquisite) and dined in the main dining room. Cheateubriand for two was fabulous. then we went to the Whiskey room and had whiskey of course. Even the ladies rooms was an experience. if you are here in Edinburgh make a point to dine here and the staff was unprentitious and so attentive. loved it!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelmika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent cheese board”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Enjoyed our meal in this beautiful restaurant. A lovely setting with gothic decor. The food was good even though we felt the portion sizes were very small, although the generous auld alliance cheese board made up for this. Interesting and delicious menu apart from some very chewy cabbage/kale with 2 of our main courses. Could not fault the service, with friendly but not overly-attentive staff who could explain the menu well. A little dark in the room we were in, but a nice atmosphere. Toilets got as little messy as the night went on but there was a wedding party in and it was very busy. The house red was superb.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chookybirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhubarb - The Restaurant at Prestonfield also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Rhubarb - The Restaurant at Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing