We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect Sunday evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamiltons Bar & Kitchen

Hamiltons Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #454 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$53 - US$53
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Stockbridge & Dean Village
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect Sunday evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I was in Hamiltons last Sunday for some dinner and drinks with some friends, being recently retired I enjoy going out on the odd Sunday and was delighted to hear that Hamilton's had a band on that evening. After our food (I had the roast of the day, which was brilliant) we moved down to the sofas and enjoyed a nice bottle of red recommended by our waitress and stayed for the band. A brilliant evening, I will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanMS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    104
    40
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Hamiltons is a great wee bar. We eat there often and breakfast, lunch and dinner have never disappointed us - certainly not your average pub grub. We've noticed a change in staff over that past year and unfortunately they're not as efficient and friendly as previous staff. Very comfortable bar with big sofas and nice ambiance, unfortunately the smell from the toilets is really offensive and wafts up the stairs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over rated- terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

As mentioned by other reviewers- very rude staff. Terrible food. Over priced.
There are so many better places to eat in Stockbridge. I would advise to avoid.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmos-Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Went for a meal here with my family last week. The atmosphere is great, you have the busy stylish bar on one side of the room and a spacious well decorated seating area to the other. The staff are bunch of georgous blondes and my venison stew was delicious!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great out the city pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great atmosphere. Very pleasant and helpful staff.
We called in on Friday evening and there was a super buzz about the place. It is on a couple of different levels and you can eat there. We did not eat this time but have done and it;s excellent.We really enjoy going there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tenerifegirl1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamiltons Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hamiltons Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing