We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugby Weekend”

Hamiltons Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #499 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$53 - US$53
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stockbridge & Dean Village
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rugby Weekend”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Three of us thought we'd book here for the Friday night before the six nations rugby. Food good and priced okay, although three things were not available (one special, two on the main menu) which we weren't told about when we ordered (which took quite a while). One of our party ordered a cocktail with sloe gin and prosecco thinking it may be a long drink - came served in a tumber glass with about 3/4 inch liquid in the bottom - very disappointing especially for £10!! Although the food was good would not go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    111
    43
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big Burger!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Been a few times and my (fussy) brother always goes when down in Edinburgh. Its all about the big, big burger. Did I mention it was big? Big but delicious.
Lots of choice in Stockbridge area but worth a go. Busy little bar area too.
Gets the 4 score for the tasty burger...
Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great brunch.”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Saturday brunch. Lovely eggs benedict with smoked salmon. French toast with maple syrup and bacon. Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Toast was extra. Great coffee. 2 pots of tea - a bit weak but hardly a disaster. Buzzy atmosphere and would go back.
£27.50 for 3 of us. Service was very smiley and attentive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerwould!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect Sunday evening”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I was in Hamiltons last Sunday for some dinner and drinks with some friends, being recently retired I enjoy going out on the odd Sunday and was delighted to hear that Hamilton's had a band on that evening. After our food (I had the roast of the day, which was brilliant) we moved down to the sofas and enjoyed a nice bottle of red recommended by our waitress and stayed for the band. A brilliant evening, I will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanMS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Hamiltons is a great wee bar. We eat there often and breakfast, lunch and dinner have never disappointed us - certainly not your average pub grub. We've noticed a change in staff over that past year and unfortunately they're not as efficient and friendly as previous staff. Very comfortable bar with big sofas and nice ambiance, unfortunately the smell from the toilets is really offensive and wafts up the stairs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamiltons Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hamiltons Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing