We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm right on the High Street”
Review of Cafe Hub

Cafe Hub
Ranked #624 of 2,456 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$5 - US$28
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit
Edinburgh,UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm right on the High Street”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We went into the Hub on a horrible cold day in early December , and sampled their mulled wine and mince pies- absolutely delicious and very reasonable ( £4.50) Beautifully served in an elegant tall glass mug on a white plate - and the mince pies were warm. Just the ticket !The sofas are comfortable and you can forget about the hurly burly going on outside for a while.In the summer they have tables outside, but in the winter , I think people don't realise it is there ! My husband has been back since for morning coffee and 'bun' which he said was equally good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    125
    45
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Lucky Find”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Although we live quite close to Edinburgh and visit frequently this was our first time in this venue. We were doing the touristy stuff with family and overseas visitors, complete with one very young child in a buggy plus eight adults with some very fussy eaters in the mix. On a cold wet day (good old Scotland) we also had plenty of coats, umbrellas and bags to make us even more cumbersome to deal with - overall a challenging task for any cafe/restaurant on a weekend lunchtime..

Initial impressions were good, with a spacious entrance , well decorated and modern within an old converted church. The cafe area itself was bright and airy with plenty of room for our clutter, including the buggy.

We were greeted by a young lady who could not have been more welcoming or accommodating who proceeded to make major re-arrangements to the table layout to suit our requirements.

A request to heat up the baby food was met with swift efficiency with whatever on earth it was returned perfectly heated through even before we had decided on our own food choices.

The menu choice was varied, ranging from soup and a sandwich up through burgers and chips and the ubiquitous Haggis, Neeps And Tatties and beyond.

All eight main courses were delivered to the table virtually simultaneously, which considering the diverse range ordered, was in itself very impressive.

The food quality was excellent, and our overseas friends thought the Haggis to be 'not what they expected but very tasty'. Those who ordered chips with their meal thought them to be some of the best they had ever had. All eight expressed themselves as highly satisfied with the visit and thought it good value for money.

A mild criticism of the venue is the clean but slightly careworn lavatories which could be improved with just a little effort.

Once again I must comment on the exceptionally helpful and pleasant staff encountered during this visit. For once I was not required to be apologetic about service standards in the UK!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeHub, Manager at Cafe Hub, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write such a kind and thorough review. You were a delightful group to have in and we were really pleased that you felt well cared for and that you enjoyed your meal.
Please do come in and see us again soon! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lacklustre and lukewarm”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Hub has an excellent reputation as a venue, so when we were visiting the Camera Obscura yesterday and a 10% discount at Café Hub was offered with the entry fee, we had no hesitation in popping in for a coffee in the afternoon. What a disappointment. Service was lacklustre and the food and beverages well below par. Our coffees were weak and as lukewarm as the service. We ordered thick cut chips which tasted like they had been fried in old oil, very greasy and with an unpleasant after taste. When we went to pay the bill, the staff member was unaware of the discount arrangement. There didn't appear to be a manager on site and the staff were disinterested, verging on incompetent considering the simplicity of our order and expectations. Would not go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifiscamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deeply disappointing”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

With such close proximity to the castle, this seemed to be an ideal choice for a family lunch. Very poor decision. Subprime roast beef overridden by horseradish, twice-fried chips, soggy fish. Washed down with a flat diet coke. Waiter disinterested in resolving. Never again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank merve01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeHub, Manager at Cafe Hub, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, however we are sorry to read it. Having looked into this we felt that we had offered you understanding and care on the day. We removed the kids menu fish and chips from the bill, took a further 10% off your bill in additional to offering you a free round of drinks, therefore we feel disappointed to read your comment that we were disinterested in resolving this matter on the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Most convenient regular hang-out”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Working in tourism I go to Cafe Hub regularly over the summer. For me it is the perfect lunch break after visiting the castle. I have about one hour and though the location is most convenient, I get a decent lunch + good coffee and the paper sitting comfortably on the sofa afterwards. Most of the time service is friendly and quick and they do understand that sometimes I have to leave at a certain time. What else do you need? Will definitely be back next season.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Be2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeHub, Manager at Cafe Hub, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we look forward to welcoming you back next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Hub also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing