We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep Fried Mars Bar!”
Review of ClamShell

ClamShell
Ranked #886 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$37 - US$37
Cuisines: Pizza, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: Old Town
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Deep Fried Mars Bar!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A little chippie in a great location on the Royal Mile. I would recommend giving the deep fried Mars a try...they also do twix and snickers (!). Even if you are not a fan of the chocolate, when in Scotland....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SallyOday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    78
    30
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Deep fried delights”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Decent chippy with a simple, friendly service. The item which we nipped in for was a deep-fried mars bar at lunch. But whilst we were there also sample a deep fried pizza and chips. Don't expect gourmet, definitely get on the deep fried!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank R4ABigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Excellent food and friendly service. Never fails to deliver on either. We
always make a special effort to come here when we have an opportunity.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently great food !”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I love this Chippy, i visit here every 2nd Saturday before the football match. The fish n chips is always tasty,fresh . What more can you ask for in a Chippy ! Consistently great.

This is my second review of "The Clam Shell" but it merits a 5 star review. I wish we had a Chippy like this down the East coast in North Berwick.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Deep Fried Mars Bar!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Went in here to try the deep fried Mars Bar. Staff were really friendly and told us all about the chocolate they fry as well. Mars bar was delicious, not greasy like I thought it would be.

Helpful?
Thank Kate81Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ClamShell also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to ClamShell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing