We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Astonishingly good value.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zucca Restaurant & Cafe

Zucca Restaurant & Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Zucca Restaurant & Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #430 of 2,438 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Zucca is an Italian restaurant, located in the west end of Edinburgh's theatre district, is a firm favourite with the pre-theatre crowds, tourists and locals alike, looking for great food without too much fuss and formality. Ideally situated in between the Royal Lyceum, the Usher hall and the Travers theatre, it aims to offer elegant but simple food, using fine Italian and Scottish produce, reflecting both seasonality and the chefs' creativity, maintaining a Mediterranean theme throughout. The food is complimented by an unpretentious selection of good wines, moderately priced; highlighting the best style each Italian region has to offer. The restaurant operates Tuesday-Saturday (bookings strongly advised for theatre times) and is open for Usherhall Sunday and Monday performances. Telephone for details
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Astonishingly good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

En route to the Usher Hall, we needed an early evening dinner nearby. The menu outside was appealing, so we went in. The welcome was warm, a pre theatre menu arrived that had a good choice. Service was excellent, food was wonderful, price was amazing.. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamesbarr1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    95
    39
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Value pre Theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Good value for 2 or 3 courses. My daughter's steak was delicious (supplement to pay). Cooked just as she requested. My wild mushroom risotto full of mushrooms and very tasty. We appreciated the well timed service as we were going to The Traverse that night. Had we not been attending the theatre the restaurant could have felt a little empty by 7.30pm as there was quite an exodus to the Lyceum Theatre too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Superquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great tasty food. Freshly cooked. Great service. a little on pricey side but it is a case of more quality than quantity.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank carlalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Weekend break in Edinburgh, so expected restaurants to be busy. Hotel managed to get us a reservation at this restaurant on the Saturday night & so glad they did. Food was amazing & nothing was too much trouble for the staff & Chef. Wasn't too busy, as early theatre diners had eaten. Would definitely go again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food but AWFUL owner!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had a table reserved on a Valentines Day and were really excited to eat out somewhere new. Basically, we were fooled into paying double as much as we should have. We had a "taste card" which entitles to eat 2for1 and we asked before coming if it was valid. No negative response was received. So we came. The food was amazing - no complains about that. However, when we asked for our bill they then said we cannot use the taste card and that the website states it "clearly". So I opened the website on my phone and asked the manager to show it...his hands started shaking and he could not find it therefore offered us to speak to the owner. We agreed. The owner came and we asked him to show us the "clear online sign that the card is not valid" but he could not do it because it wasn't there. He was very rude, did not even say sorry. So we left the restaurant after paying a huge bill. Overall, as I said the food is amazing, and was ready really quickly, however the overall atmosphere is really disappointing, really crowded, way too many tables for the size of the restaurant and the owner should be more respectful to his customers. We are never coming back there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zucca Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Zucca Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing