We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must try! You definitely won't be dissappointed..”
Review of Ushers Restaurant

Ushers Restaurant
Ranked #1,190 of 2,456 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$12 - US$85
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award Winning, 3 AA Rosette Fine Dining Restaurant
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“You must try! You definitely won't be dissappointed..”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Why don't hand picked hotels promote this fine dining restaurant? They have a hidden gem in this 3 AA rosette (on a par with Edinburgh's michelin star) restaurant. It's amazing. This was our second visit and have booked to return. Sadly for the chef it is quiet and I struggle to understand why.
The food is exquisite. Both times we have had the tasting menu, a 3 hour gastronomique treat! Highly recommended are the beetroot, grapefruit and goats cheese and the smoked roe deer.
The matching wines are only £25 (for 9 different wines!) and unbelievable value for money.
We are regular visitors to 21212, Martin wisharts and kitchens and this restaurant is on a par in our humble opinion and a step above the plumbed horse.
Try it, you will not be dissappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    4
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WHAT A WONDERFUL MEAL”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was the final Scottish dinner for a group of Americans on a one week tour of Scotland. We certainly saved the best till last. The food was excellent, and the waiter made the evening very special with his encyclopaedic knowledge of food and wine and his recommendations. When we are in this area again, we will undoubtedly eat in Ushers Restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experiance”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

It had been years since we last ate here and after seeing the menu we were both looking forward to it. We opted for the tasting menu including the wine (total cost £90 per head), I called ahead a few days and explained my wife is a vegetarian (they said they would create a menu for her). It was a superb night, all (nine) courses were tasty, the wine that came with, just added to it. There is an option for a 10th (cheese) course but we were to full to partake. We sat down at 7.30 and left at 11.00, there was never a rush, the meal just flowed. I cannot praise the staff enough, we were well looked after and we would not hesitate in going back. Having tried the Michelin (21212) just before and after Xmas (which was very good) we both felt this venue was even better. Go before they get a star and the price shoots up.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patcannon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Exquisite food... Empty restaurant. ”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Made a special trip out to Ushers Restaurant for a celebration as it was recommended to be such a fabulous restaurant.
The service was impeccable and our waitpr was faultless - both with his knowledge and honesty of the menu.
The food was absolutely out of this world and we were beyond satisfied with the three courses, amuse bouche, homemade bread, coffee and petit fours we tasted.
The only thing letting the entire experience down... It was a ghost town!!! Friday night dinner and we were the only 2 diners for the entire 3 hour meal. We felt somewhat sorry for them as they deserved more customers for the gorgeous food.
I am still rating 5 star due to the food and service , and even though it was empty there was a lovely relaxed ambience and great music in the background to ensure it was never awkward. And we were chatting away all night anyway!
Wonderful meal. Thank you so much.

Helpful?
Thank Levina_Masterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Wonderful Orkney scallops, Roe deer with delicately shredded cabbage, bacon and pear, inspired puddings and reasonably priced fine wine by the glass. Impeccable service, complimentary amuse bouche. Worthy of a Michelin star or two.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ushers Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Kirknewton, West Lothian
 

Been to Ushers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing