We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Celadon Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Celadon Thai Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$32
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We called in on Saturday for dinner, we didn't have a booking but were able to get a table. The staff were friendly and good. The food was delicious. To begin with I thought that the portion of sticky rice was a bit small but it is amasing how much fits in the bamboo holder! The only thing wrong was that we were not provided any spoons to serve the rice or the mains but they were provided when we asked. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florida3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Disappointing Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My partner and I dined in Celadon on Saturday 24th August. All of the food, both starters and main courses were luke-warm. There was no break in between the courses, our mains arrived immediately after we had finished eating our starters. We felt as though we were being rushed out of the restaurant. I ordered the Penang chicken as my main. On the menu, it was described as served on a sizzling platter. It was luke warm and definitely not sizzling. The sticky rice was served inside a clear plastic bag, really not nicely presented and it had gone well beyond sticky - it was more of a solid brick. We complained to the waitress, who offered to re-heat the food. It did appear that the food had been lying under a heat lamp for a while, rather than being freshly cooked.
We definitely would NOT return to Celadon, it was a disappointing experience overall. Competition out there is stiff and there are far better Thai restaurants in Edinburgh, charging similar prices, with better menus and far superior quality of food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Knowlsie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The atmosphere at the Celadon is relaxed, pleasant and cosy; the food is excellent. We had the Yum King Scallop and the prawn tempura to start with - I highly recommend the former - followed by black pepper duck and penang chicken with jasmine rice, and coffee to finish (neither I nor my wife are sweet people, so we passed on that course). We came away having spent just £42. So, excellent value for money, excellent food and wonderful atmosphere. Finally, the service was very attentive (glasses topped up, quietly and efficiently, for example) without being in any way intrusive.

So, the ultimate test of a good restaurant - would we go again? You bet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Labsnark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREEN BAY
Level Contributor
898 reviews
434 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Nice interior, attentive service, flavorless food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Nice location, attentive service, and a pleasant interior. However aside from the starters, the entrees (a duck dish and beef dish) while cooked okay were absent any flavor or spice to indicate it was Thai food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dsj5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Misleading”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I often wonder if reviews are objective enough, we chose this restaurant as it was available and local after a theatre performance. It is fundamentally a basic restaurant serving average food at a moderate price. Regrettably we were expecting more based on some of your reviews.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Celadon Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing