We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very child friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vittoria On The Bridge

Vittoria On The Bridge
Ranked #145 of 2,438 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Vittoria on the Bridge, in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, is one of the city's most popular restaurants, where delicious, fresh, authentic Italian food is served up throughout the day in relaxed, friendly surroundings offering a true home from home experience and fabulous Italian hospitality for which the Crolla family are renowned.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Very child friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

This was our third visit and as usual the food and service were excellent.The staff are always very attentive to youngsters,supplying crayons and balloons.
Would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    427
    128
    53
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“exquisite cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

food was excellent and service was prompt. The atmosphere was lively and the restaurant reassuringly full. The portions are generous, and for the larger appetite a dream come true. I have read the reviews regarding the service and I would agree that there is a female member of staff who is a little sour. However, the rest were very helpful and more than accomodating and it did not spoil our evening - We will certainly return.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nichola346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing food - huge portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

Staff were amazing... our glasses were never empty!
The place was packed out which is a very good sign, yet food still came without delay.
Food was lovely - big portions and good value.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

Went here with some friends in January, booking through their website was easy and I got 50% discount. The place was quite busy, well decorated, had a very nice atmosphere and was professionally operated, also most of the staff were Italian which is a good sign.

We were a little surprised when the starters arrived as they were quite small but actually they were really good and tactfully portioned.

We all had pasta mains which were in fact quite generous portions. All dishes went down well, pappardelle with hare ragu was very tasty. I tried also the gluten free pizza and it taste very good.

While it was a great evening, I would recommend taking advantage of the 50% discount but even the full price shown on the menu, I have to admit, it’s good value for money.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank parella20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good italian food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

Good place for a bite to eat.
The staff were friendly, there was a huge choice of food, for meat eaters and vegetarians. The service was fast and the location is really handy, just off the Royal Mile.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank englishowl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vittoria On The Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Vittoria On The Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing