We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant service & going that extra mile.............it matters!”

Vittoria On The Bridge
Ranked #152 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Vittoria on the Bridge, in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, is one of the city's most popular restaurants, where delicious, fresh, authentic Italian food is served up throughout the day in relaxed, friendly surroundings offering a true home from home experience and fabulous Italian hospitality for which the Crolla family are renowned.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Brilliant service & going that extra mile.............it matters!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We visited this restaurant in quite a large party on a trip to Edinburgh. The service was great and the atmosphere lively on a Saturday night. What made this place special was not only great choice and good portions, with most of us really enjoying what we chose, but that extra mile in terms of service that they went. We sent a cake in advance and left it there to go off clubbing. We arranged to return the next day and have our cake with coffees. This was no problem at all and they sliced it up and served garnished with fresh cream and a wafer, for us to eat with our coffees. Thank you so much, it was a really nice touch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AandP433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Bridge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
I am pleased that you enjoyed joining us twice on your visit . It pleases me greatly that our team go the extra mile. We hope to always treat our guests as we want to be treated. Thank you for your review, your kind words will be passed on to the team.

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    445
    138
    55
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant ”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Went to this restaurant for lunch, had a panini, was really nice. I can't wait to go and have dinner at this restaurant, heard it's meant to be really good.

Helpful?
Thank alanmac1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Bridge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Please ensure that you sign up for the Vittoria loyalty card as it is free and creates savings at all locations throughout the month. It takes 24 hours to activate so do sign up a day or two before you make your reservation. The online reservation system is so simple and flawless.

Thank you for your review.

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, ambience and service”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our second visit to the restaurant following a great meal on our first visit two years ago and we were not disappointed. It is a family run restaurant and great pride in an exceptional standard of service delivery is clear from the moment you walk in the door. We started with a pre dinner drink in the bar downstairs which had a great variety of wines, beers and cocktails on offer. We then moved upstairs to the restaurant and shown to our pre booked table. The menu was extensive with a wide variety of Italian meals all freshly cooked. I don't think I have had a better pizza and the side salad was made to order with the freshest of ingredients. It was also very reasonably priced with attentive - not intrusive - service, with a great continental atmosphere. we will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FortBillPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Bridge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Please don't leave it two years to come back. Thank you for your excellent review.

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What are they doing to the garlic bread?”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Why is it so many Italian restaurants are offering garlic bread which you can get in any supermarket freezer for £1.50 a pack? Was also disappointed with my lasagne which was a big dollop of pasta with very little sauce, therefore dry. However sometimes you just choose the wrong dish from the menu! I would certainly give this restaurant another try. The waiters were very nice and the place is obviously popular. Hope they go back to traditional garlic bread!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank heath569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Bridge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Our bread is made in house fresh each day and then the garlic bread is made from this stage. I can assure you it is not premade or bought in. I do hope that you will give us a second chance as the lasagna is one of the best selling dishes on the menu. I will investigate the presentation of this dish as it to is made fresh in house daily.
Cheers, Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous food & great service”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Visited this restaurant for the first time as a party of 6 for my Dads birthday. The welcome was warm, service was attentive and as we were seated quite near the kitchen, our mouths watered with the smells & food passing our table!
We started with Cozze (Mussels) which was a huge portion cooked to perfection, Polpette (Meatballs) which were tasty & just the right amount of heat, Pate Della Casa, Bruscetta & Barbeque Pork Spare Ribs, the meat of which fell from the bones. Clean plates all round!
For mains we had Spaghetti Carbonara, Pizza Diavolo which lived up to its spicy name, Calzone, Fusilli with Chicken & Pesto which was so delicious I could have licked the plate, Chicken Cacciatora and Fillet Steak which my son declared was the best he ever tasted!
With just enough room for dessert... the Baileys Cheesecake, Chocolate Cake & Banoffee Pie all got the thumbs up.
Given the quality of the food & portion size, along with the great service this is definitely a place to visit & we will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susancockbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Bridge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
I am pleased that your group enjoyed their experience with us.Please ensure that you sign up for the Vittoria loyalty card as it is free and creates savings at all locations throughout the month. It takes 24 hours to activate. Thank you for your excellent review.

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vittoria On The Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Vittoria On The Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing