We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday banter!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vittoria On The Walk

Vittoria On The Walk
Ranked #126 of 2,438 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Leith
Description: VITTORIA ON THE WALK Vittoria on the Walk is an Edinburgh institution and has been part of city life for 45 years. This bustling, friendly, family restaurant continues to serve up a fantastic combination of delicious, authentic Italian food and friendly service, ensuring it is as busy as ever and one of Leith's trendiest and most popular eateries
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birthday banter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We made a reservation here only 2 hours before we needed it, after reading great reviews on here. As the sun was unexpectedly shining, we asked to sit outside before ordering our food. Our request was accommodated, with the promise our table would still be waiting. We were brought drinks & a menu outside, and asked to come back in when we were ready. The restaurant was full, and everyones food looked delicious. We ordered starters & mains (breaded mushrooms, calamari, steak & carbonara). We were looked after by every waiter in the restaurant, including the manager, and made to feel like VIPs. As it was my birthday, my boyfriend sneakily arranged for my dessert to be brought out with a candle - which Vittoria was happy to do. To our pleasant surprise, it came with said candle - plus a sparkler, plus every waiter singing & hip hip hooraying, commenting on my birthday & offering congratulations. We were so happy when our bill came, as I think £76 for 3 courses & 2 alcoholic drinks each is more than reasonable. The service was excellent; we were offered friendly banter with amazing, authentic Italian food and people, and were looked after the 3 hours we were there. We were visiting from Brighton, so sadly cannot make this our regular treat.
Definitely worth a visit - Thank you!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Walk, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Happy Belated Birthday! Our team enjoy creating wonderful experiences for our guests and enjoy the "Birthday Banter". Celebrating special occasions with you and creating fantastic memories is part of what we love to do. I do hope your birthday is well remembered. We hope you visit again the next time you are visiting Edinburgh.

Sincerely,

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    264
    100
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Yummy meal, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We came across Vittoria by accident, but were glad we did! Right from the start, it was clear that it's a popular restaurant with lots of regulars. The staff were very friendly and quickly found us a table. The food was great (particularly the calzone) and the wine recommendation was too. Overall we felt Vittoria was quite good value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LianneDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Walk, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
We are glad that you found us and glad that you enjoyed your compete experience. We do our upmost to creat wonderful memorable experiences and hope we succeeded with you on your visit.

Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic and professional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Went here to carb load on pasta the night before the Edinburgh Marathon. The restaurant was busy, so I recommend you book a table in advance. The waiters were professional, the atmosphere and food were authentic and we all really enjoyed our meal. Would absolutely visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PrinsesseLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Walk, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
I hope you enjoyed the marathon and did well in the race. I also hope that our pasta did the trick to support your race. We are a busy restaurant and booking is recommended but we will always do our best to accommodate all guests on arrival.

Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very good meal & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Only had a main course which was very nice. The service was good and good value for money. Would go again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Collette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Walk, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for your review and we do hope that you do come again. Be sure to sign up for out free loyalty card as it offers wonderful savings throughout our locations all month long.

Regards,

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

I've eaten at Vittoria every time I've visited Edinburgh and have loved the great food and the excellent service. The servers are happy to make recommendations on everything on the menu. They are dedicated to making sure you have a wonderful experience. On my last visit, I jokingly commented that my friends and I couldn't pick a table that didn't wobble that day and our waiter happened to hear as he was going by. He quickly came back with the little stabilizer wedges and proceeded to shim the table so it didn't wobble!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WernliEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Walk, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Nothing is worse than a wobbling table. My personal pet hate. We have invested in special stabilizer wedges as it is the only proper way to solve this annoying problem. It is pleasing to hear that our servers are paying special attention to our guests. Thank you for your review and I will be passing this on to the team. They will appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vittoria On The Walk also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Vittoria On The Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing