We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy”

Vittoria On The Walk
Ranked #124 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Leith
Description: VITTORIA ON THE WALK Vittoria on the Walk is an Edinburgh institution and has been part of city life for 45 years. This bustling, friendly, family restaurant continues to serve up a fantastic combination of delicious, authentic Italian food and friendly service, ensuring it is as busy as ever and one of Leith's trendiest and most popular eateries
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cosy”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Good food great service good price , they got to know us when we returned each evening the staff were helpful explaining the options on the menu.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank connie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Walk, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We like to take the time to get to know our guests and enjoy creating a wonderful experience for you during your time with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed both the food and the service.

Thank you for your review.

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    275
    102
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinbugh
1 review
“Could be better”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have always loved this restaurant but I feel now the portions are getting much smaller and the prices higher. My partner had a starter of rice balls filled with bolognase the flavour was lovely but the potion size was tiny. I had mussels that were average. The main course improved but the dessert of cheesecake was disappointing. Such a shame used to be my favourite place to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hogan2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Walk, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
I am unsure if this is the correct restaurant review as we have a wonderful dish of Arancini: Rice, mozzarella, mince coated in bread crumbs, served with a Bolognese sauce but nothing as you described. If it is indeed the correct review, I do apologise if your experience was disappointing I hope you will come in and dine with us soon.

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty Italian food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Everything was excellent. The seafood pasta ('tagliatelle al pescatore') was exceptional for the £12 price tag, with heaps of fresh mussels, clams and other shellfish.

Service was polite and impressively efficient, on what was a very busy day (the restaurant was fully booked, with people at every table), food for eight people arrived in less than 15 minutes.

Good atmosphere, nicely decorated and authentic food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank featuredteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Walk, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and I hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Edinburgh.
Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and interesting food well-cooked and well-presented”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at a rental apartment nearby and this restaurant was recommended in their "where to eat" notes. Went for a late lunch - 4 adults, 2 small children - and had a really enjoyable meal. Staff were delightful, the food arrived quickly and was tasty and well presented. Liked it so much we went back with more family members and an extra small child the next day and again a few days later!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Decent food at a fair price”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A group of 8 of us visited here on a busy Saturday night and everyone had a good evening.

Service was good and we weren't waiting around too long for the food to arrive.

The food was nice but nothing mind blowing. I had minestrone soup for starter and linguine with clams for my main. The pasta sauce was tasty but there wasn't a great amount of clams, therefore slightly disappointing.

I'd visit again as the food is reasonably priced and the restaurant had a good atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_Tough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Vittoria On The Walk, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. Please if you had wished for more clams to ask. We do our best to match expectations of our guests and will always ensure that you have what you want if you ask at the time. I do hope you will try us again as suggested.

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vittoria On The Walk also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Vittoria On The Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing