We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of The Kitchin

The Kitchin
Ranked #19 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$199
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Without a doubt one of my favourite resturant experiences.
Our start to the eve was rotten as we were held in the traffic and got lost in Edinburgh. However the staff at the Kitchin were very helpful in going the extra mile of giving directions and reassuring us our table would still be there for us.
The resturant itself is beautiful and well decorated with a warming athmosphere.
As a game lover, the choice of food from the menu was difficult as i wanted it all.
Settling for the pigs head and langoustine for starter (the signature dish) was a great choice.
The food was amazing and full of flavour.
The staff were pleasent and nice throughout.
Not got a bad word to say about this place, other than it should be nearer to home for me!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LukeB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,264
    324
    147
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous but a wee bit disappointing on a couple personal 'fronts'”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

On arrival we were met by cheerful staff at reception and had a very nice pre-dinner cocktail. Seated in the restaurant alongside the kitchen we found it rather warm indeed though and later in the evening discovered that the air-conditioning wasn't working there as another couple were moved to a new table. The food was beautifully presented by staff who described each plate. We traveled all the way to Edinburgh from London for a special birthday for a chef friend and even though she received a small card on the table the promised kitchen visit for her and a candle or birthday recognition as part of the dessert didn't happen, a touch disappointing as chosen also with the hope that Chef would be there too and on this occasion he wasn't able to be. At least our 'own young chef' could look in through the window at the kitchen at times. Overall an enjoyable visit with delicious food and a souvenir menu and map to take away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueIan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant but feeling let down by missing an opportunity”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

So no complaints from my mother & father about their food. Excellent was the description. However, I called ahead to let the restaurant know it was their 50th wedding anniversary and to make sure they were looked after. To be honest, I didnt know what that would translate into, but it sounds like they were treated like any other customer (very well) apart from a small signed card from Tom. OK, so maybe my expectation of a wee glass of bubbly on the house may have been too high, but I did expect them to leave feeling a wee bit extra special. No reflection on the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham England
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Certainly up there”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Visited during the Edinburgh festival last week on a lunchtime.

I was nice to see Mr Kitchin directing the lunchtime service and what a lovely experience it was, the food was top drawer from the amuse bouche to the Lemon Souffle dessert, and the lobster ravioli and beef in between weren't bad either, did I say weren't bad, I meant to say bl**dy marvelous.

Friendly professional staff who know what they are doing, lovely decor and attention to detail.

Would I go again, oh yes please.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant, feels like you are in your own dining room.”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great experience, really attentive waiters who talked us through all the courses. Had lots of uncommon dishes such as pigs cheek, grouse, john dory.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kitchin also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Kitchin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing