We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Classic Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Classic Guest House
Ranked #66 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had a very comfortable stay at the Classic guest house, Edinburgh. The landlady and staff are very friendly and helpful.The location of the guest house is very good for the city centre which has everything to offer being the capital city of Scotland.The room was warm and the bed was totally comfortable,the en-suite was a little small,but it served it's purpose. The breakfast was spot on, beautifully cooked and definitely enough to keep you going 'till lunch time.Would definitely recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    77
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
44
124
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Immediately on arrival, we had a lovely friendly greeting from Fiona, who made us feel very welcome. The double room was spotless and very comfy, we had an excellent night's sleep. It overlooked the garden at the back. The breakfast was delicious, with plenty of cereals to choose from, yogurts, cheese and fresh fruit. We had the full Scottish breakfast and it lasted us all day.The guest house is situated only a short walk from a bus route straight onto Princess St in the City - £3.80 for 2 one-way. We also had a taxi which was approx £6. We would highly recommend the Classic Guest House and will definitely be returning later in the year. It is excellent value for money. Thank you Fiona for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at the Classic Guest with our 2 young daughters. Family rooms are often difficult to find, but here we had a large room with a double and 2 single beds in, and an en-suite bathroom. Room was nice and clean, and tea and milk topped up daily.

The owners were friendly and helpful and we were spoilt at breakfast with warm croissants, juices, coffee and a full home cooked breakfast.

A quick taxi ride into Edinburgh. Would recommend and look forward to returning

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome was the start for my wife and i at this great little gem.clean well appointed rooms,friendly staff and a hearty breakfast were to follow.many thanks,in the words of arnie"we will be back".

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rawdon_tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix AZ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Three of us spent three days at the Classic during Hogmany, and it was as advertised: clean, comfortable, convenient, great food and great hosts. This is the place to stay.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AmicusCuriae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at the Classic Appartment in West Saville Terrace the weekend before xmas, May I say that it was a beautiful appartment with all the expected facilities of a luxury appartment and the size of the bed in the master bedroom was huge!!!!!

Very beautifully decorated and in a great location with easy access to the centre with regular buses at the top of the road.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming and was looked after throughout our stay. Room was adequate for a couple - clean and tidy although bathroom was tiny. Always hot water when taking a shower. (we stayed in room no. 3) Breakfast was ok with plenty of options from fruit to cereals to traditional fry ups. The coffee tasted good. Location was ok - 30 minutes walk into city centre. Alternatively a 7 minute bus ride with a stop near to house. Taxi costs approx £8 per journey.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#30 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#59 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#37 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#34 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#91 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Guest House

Property: Classic Guest House
Address: 50 Mayfield Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH9 2NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Classic Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Classic Guest House Edinburgh, a Victorian town house located in a quiet, residential area and offering quality 3 Star B&B accommodation with free parking and free Wi-Fi close to Edinburgh city centre, Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street. All our rooms are elegant, comfortable and tastefully decorated to a very high standard and are thoughtfully equipped. A sumptuous Scottish Breakfast can be enjoyed in the conservatory, overlooking our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Classic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Classic Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing