We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Convenient Bus Stop”
Review of Ascot Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ascot Guest House
Ranked #170 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Denver
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice Room, Convenient Bus Stop”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Very Cute Bed and Breakfast. We had a sink in our room but the bathroom was right down the hall. Neither my husband or I ever had to wait to go to the bathroom. The bedroom was cutely decorated and the bed itself was very comfortable. The location is about a 15 min walk or there is a bus stop right outside. I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anf720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascothouseedinburgh, Owner at Ascot Guest House, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a nice review, your feedback is much appreciated. I hope you will come to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Having read some of the reviews on this site I was a bit worried about staying here....HOWEVER.
The room was lovely, large and you could not hear anything from inside the house when the door was closed. The front window looked out over the road, but more noticeable was Arthur's Seat which was very visible. The bus stopped right outside the front door and it was only a short walk to the town.

The room had everything you could need, tea and coffee tray, kettle, hot chocolate, biscuits and TV. The beds were very comfy and made everyday, which we did not expect, and the tea tray was replenished daily.

The first morning we went down to breakfast to find a full buffet table of pastries, yoghurt, fruit, juices, cereal etc. on top of all this there was a full Scottish breakfast tea/coffee and toast!! We had the breakfast every morning and it was lovely, especially when John & Julie very kindly sorted some fresh sausage slice for us instead of a normal sausage!

John and Julie were always very pleasant, helpful and willing to suggest places to eat/go to for the day. They also very kindly agreed to us bringing food upstairs in the evening from outside the B&B.

The bathroom...for those that do not already know, some of the rooms share a bathroom. THis is really not a problem, we went during the week of the Fringe festival, and the Tattoo and we still never saw or heard a soul in the bathroom, which was right next door to the room. We NEVER had a problem getting in to use the shower or toilet, and as I said before we never even heard the toilet flushing from the room.
The only thing to be aware of when using the shower is that the shower tray is rather slippery, I always have flip-flops with me for this purpose and so none of us had a problem with slipping or sliding.

We had our own key to get in, no matter what time of day, which was very useful to us as we were there to visit the town and take in the atmosphere of the Festival and the busy town.

Overall...
Fantastic!!!! We would stay there again and would recommend to anyone that needs a place to stay close to town, with bus links from Waverley station to the B&B and back into town it is very convenient for travellers, there is also parking on the drive, which we had no trouble getting into.

Room Tip: Room 5 has the wonderful views of Arthur's Seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Camper285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We were surprised to find any vacancies as it was Edinburgh Festival time and expected the worst before we got there but were very pleasantly surprised!

We were on our way back from a week in a cottage near Loch Ness and thought we'd break the journey up, as we had 2 dogs with us I thought we'd struggle to find anything.

When we arrived we had a chat with the landlady, saying how we'd like to see a show and asking if there anywhere we could leave the dogs when she actually offered to look after them for us!! What a star!

Reasonably priced, outstanding breakfast choice (even for our veggie son!), large room with good facilities and handily located (we walked to the Royal Mile and back quite easily) with a bus stop right outside the door.

To top it all off the hosts were lovely people, we'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 2, no real problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieEly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Dauphin, Madagascar
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at Ascot Guest House in August last year for 3 nights.

It is very easy to get there as there is a bus stop directly outside. This also makes it very easy to get to where you need to be as there are busses all the time.

The room we had was very spacious and comfortable. It was very quiet at night which is great after a long days sightseeing.

The breakfast was really good.

The owners are incredibly helpful, we had to be at the train station at 6am the following morning and a taxi was organized and prepacked breakfast was ready for us the night before.
A couple of hotels that I have stayed at don't offer that level of service.

The only negative I can say is that they don't accept credit cards and I personally don't like carrying alot of cash on me.

Despite that, it is a great guest house and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Had a really nice stay here, we really liked our room which had everything we needed. The breakfast was really good and the hosts very helpful and nice, they gave us loads of information on how to see the best of Edinburgh - which is beautiful. They are really nice people and we would definiteley stay there again. Hoping to see the pandas next time!

Room Tip: Nice and quiet at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I booked two rooms, double and single and was told this would have a bathroom to share in the middle. We were put on a different floor and shared bathroom with many others. The room was so rundown and not up to scratch. There was a watertank behind the bed which made noise all night. On arrival our rooms were not ready and were told to leave our luggage in the car. We had to leave the rooms at ten am and breakfast was only between eight to nine. Very disappointed at the state of the rooms. The website is not what you see when you are there. Will not be happy to pass on a recommedation!

Room Tip: Location good but I would stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingrid c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotguesthouse, Owner at Ascot Guest House, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for your comments but as we only have six rooms, three of which are en-suite I am at a loss to know where these ‘many’ people came from that were using the shared bathrooms.
I note that the reviewer did not approve of our décor on their one night stay and I will certainly investigate any noises from the water tank although in the 18 years we have owned the guest house we have not had a similar complaint.
Breakfast and check-out times are the same as the majority of guest houses in Edinburgh and suit the majority of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed here as we dropped our eldest daughter off for university and will definitely try to stay there every time we are back in Edinburgh! Spacious rooms with sinks and nearby clean bathrooms. Excellent Scottish breakfast, and what is better than that? Were helped with all travel plans up to the Highlands as well as daily needs in order to get our daughter ready for school. HIghly recommended and we hope to be back again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kusloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gladstone House
Gladstone House
#90 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosehall Hotel
Rosehall Hotel
#191 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clan Walker Guest House
Clan Walker Guest House
#95 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gifford House
Gifford House
#72 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Garden
Ascot Garden
#86 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Guest House

Property: Ascot Guest House
Address: 98 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ascot Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing