We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be happier!”
Review of Ascot Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ascot Guest House
Ranked #171 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Couldn't be happier!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Brilliant guest house. Great at home feel, extremely comfortable room and bed (excellent cross breeze with the windows open), and the owners are very pleasant and helpful. Delicious breakfast. Perhaps the most comfortable stay on our trip through Scotland (which has went through much of the country), and by far the most affordable!

Helpful?
Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Very good place. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The en-suite facilities, which though not the largest I have been in were perfectly adequate and the shower worked well. The breakfast was really good with plenty of choice. I had Belgian waffles with maple syrup, whipped cream and strawberries. There are loads of restaurants close by, can recommend ‘The Reverie’ a few minutes walk away. It was also good to have a car park.
The Ascot’s hosts John and Julie are really nice people and I am looking forward to staying there again on my next trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOODSTOCK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Ascot B and B is a quaint guest house on a busy road in Edinburgh. The room we had (#2) was certainly large enough with two full size beds, a nice sitting area, a fireplace, and a bay window. As another reviewer has indicated, the ensuite facilities were unique, although our shower room was behind a discreet wooden door. Both the shower room and the WC were quite tiny. The in-room sink did provide access when the other rooms were in use. Breakfast was served in the dining area, which was clean and well-appointed. A recommendation for a restaurant didn't work out, as reservations were needed, and we had just arrived in Edinburgh. The parking spaces were tight and limited, and one had to carefully maneuver out onto the street without scratching another vehicle or one's own. It was billed as an easy walk to the Royal Mile, but we didn't find that to be true. All-in-all, it was a good value for the money. It just isn't one of our favorites from the trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIRGINIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Excellent location, right outside a bus stop which has a frequent service into Edinburgh town centre and there were parking spaces outside the property at no extra cost. The owner was very helpful in saving us a spot. Our room was huge and clean, it was a first floor room, probably a lounge at some point which was full of character, the only downside was the ensuite was a bit makeshift and breakfast was not of the same quality as elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ignite_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had a great stay,would love to come back.I hope you were able to book your trip
to northern Scotland Julie you deserve to get away.You do a great job running your
guest house.greatly appreciated.
Brent and Ellen New Brunswick Canada

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The staff made us feel so welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room was very clean and spacious, and the guesthouse was easy walking distance for us to places such as the castle.
The breakfast was amazing! Highly reccomend the smoked salmon scrambled egg!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Very Cute Bed and Breakfast. We had a sink in our room but the bathroom was right down the hall. Neither my husband or I ever had to wait to go to the bathroom. The bedroom was cutely decorated and the bed itself was very comfortable. The location is about a 15 min walk or there is a bus stop right outside. I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anf720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascothouseedinburgh, Owner at Ascot Guest House, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a nice review, your feedback is much appreciated. I hope you will come to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gladstone House
Gladstone House
#90 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosehall Hotel
Rosehall Hotel
#182 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clan Walker Guest House
Clan Walker Guest House
#95 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gifford House
Gifford House
#71 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Garden
Ascot Garden
#85 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Guest House

Property: Ascot Guest House
Address: 98 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ascot Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing