We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, breakfast, and location!”
Review of Ascot Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ascot Guest House
Ranked #174 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed here as we dropped our eldest daughter off for university and will definitely try to stay there every time we are back in Edinburgh! Spacious rooms with sinks and nearby clean bathrooms. Excellent Scottish breakfast, and what is better than that? Were helped with all travel plans up to the Highlands as well as daily needs in order to get our daughter ready for school. HIghly recommended and we hope to be back again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kusloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2009

Really enjoyed my stay at the Ascot Guest House, the hosts were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. My room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and the breakfast well above average. There was no problem parking either in the car park or free parking on the street across the road (rare in Edinburgh). Very convenient for city centre, would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skeddule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

On arrival we were shown up a very nice staircase to a huge, high ceilinged bedroom. In the corner was a very odd shower/toilet arrangement and the basin was in the bedroom itself. It is a shame that a little more thought and money had not been put into the bathroom arrangements as they were bizarre to say the least. However, the room was clean with two double beds and two small sofas. The breakfast was good and the position was handy for the buses into the city centre.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie47-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

This is the place you should be staying if you are looking for good location and value,rather than luxuries,but saying that i have to add that it is kept spotlesly clean,you get everything you need in rooms-clean towels,kettle,heaps of information about local places,we had a little tv and even though room wasn't very big we had enough storage.Hosts are realy friendly and are there to help
For breakfast you get your usual tea or coffee and toast plus you help yourself to what there is on the table in dining room-cereals,fresh juice,yogarts,fresh fruit,jams and a lot of teacakes.And ofcoures you can choose cooked breakfast too
Things that i didn't like were firstly shared facilities.There's a quite spacious bathroom on the first floor,but shower on the second floor is something else.This is a smallest shower ever.I found it very difficult to use (and i am only size 10).The other thing that my partner found frustrating was the lack of parking space.There's only space for 3 cars in front of guest house and 6 or so rooms,so most of the times we had to park on the street outside
Location of the house is great it's close to city centre.It's few minute drive,or there's a bus stop right on the doorstep,or i believe you even can walk down the road it's not very far.
The City itself is spectacular i am still under the spell of it.Beautifull beautifull place

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank annox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

I visit and work in Scotland doing Heritage Tourism Planning and have visited Scotland twice a year for 15 + years. My first visit to Scotland friends booked me at the Ascot Guest House and I have been staying there ever since. It is my "home away from home" when I am working in Scotland. There is more to a B&B than the room - and John and Julie really make you feel at home. Some B&B's may be fancier (and more expensive) but none will be friendlier, more comfortable and reliable. I give them 5 stars for customer care.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jvainterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2008

This was the oddest room we've ever stayed in in any hotel or b&b.

The room was on the large side, but it was the toilet and bathroom facilities that really were the oddity for us.

The toilet was encased in a small enclosure with barely enough room to get in.

The sink was on the wall inside the bedroom area. The shower was in the bedroom area as well, encased in a glass shower enclosure. We had never seen anything like this. It was truly an add on to a room without any bathroom facilities other than the sink.

It also had a fireplace in the room, which we found a nice touch.
The owners were very nice and friendly, but the room was a little strange. We also found that we couldn't move our car once we parked, otherwise we would have had to park on a very busy bus route street. We arrived just before dinner, and the owner suggested the pub a short distance away, so we walked. The b&b is down the street from a college/university and when we got to the pub around 7:15PM, they told us they were not taking anymore dinner orders because the kitchen was behind. So we walked back to the b&b, since there wasn't any other restaurant close enough. We ended up with a few biscuits we had with us and a cup of tea.

What the room lacked in quaintness, it made up in size. Breakfast was decent. When you say you prefer an ensuite room, this one really gave it to you.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank billyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2007

This is a great guest house, marvellous breakfast, comfortable rooms and in a great location for visiting Edinburgh. Bus stop right outside the door and plenty of information about tours etc.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank jeanlyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Guest House

Address: 98 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ascot Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing