We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to be proud of”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ben Cruachan Guest House
Ranked #7 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A place to be proud of”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Staying at Ben Cruachan is like being looked after by your favourite aunty. Carole's welcome was as big and lovely as her delicious breakfasts (which featured the best smoked salmon we tasted in Scotland). Her attention to detail showed throughout, from the cosy touches in the rooms (decanter of sherry!) to the beautifully presented food. Thank you for a super stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raypodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    38
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
83
463
57
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had A wonderful stay at Bencruachan, I was truly impressed with the quality and service. We had a lovely room a very large comfortable bed ,great bathroom, nice beverage tray,with good scottish biscuits,sherry decanter,lots of extras better than most hotels. Breakfast the highlight of our visit, fantastic menu. you must try the fruit platter with greek yogurt and honey, the portions are very generous,that goes for everything you order. A lot of care has gone into this wonderful B&B with its guests being no 1 priority. Carole is a very professional host, very helpful but unintrusive.
The reviews speak for themselves.

Room Tip: sorry hit the wrong button no swimming pool. we had a lovely room at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I was in Edinburgh to visit my son who is at Edinburgh University. I stayed at Ben Cruachan for two nights and I wish it had been two weeks. My ensuite room was spotless, very comfortable, and very tastefully decorated with lots of little touches that were the icing on a gorgeous cake. Carole and George were so welcoming and nothing seemed a trouble to them, from recommending great restaurant to inviting my son over for breakfast.The breakfasts were a delight and the food was mostly organic. I really enjoyed my stay here and I would highly recommend this guesthouse - You won't be disappointed. Ger. N Ireland

Room Tip: I was in room 2 (twin)and it was perfect. I imagine the rest of the rooms are of a similar quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisburnlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Came down to Edinburgh for a show at the playhouse. Stayed the weekend in this great B&B room very comfortable. our own table at breakfast, a hearty breakfast that sets you up for the day was served. Slept like a log,A great price, nice people highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Ideally located near to city centre. From the moment we arrived we felt so welcome. The rooms are spotless, toiletries abundant,lovely touches throughout. We enjoyed our scottish breakfast, the porridge with malt was great the cooked that followed was magnificent and plentiful the standard is very high. We made agood choice booking this place. We also enjoyed dinner at the dome up town, food good great buzz about this place, make sure you book. We had a fab time in Edinburgh. We will be back. Top Marks to Carol at Ben cruachan, she really looks after you. Thanks Pat& PHILL

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The good reviews about this guest house are justified in everyway, a perfect location,beautiful house, full of character and charm. Bedroom and bathroom extremely clean and beautifully furnished. The hosts marvelous from arranging restaurants for us to ringing taxis. The reviews regarding the breakfast are so accurate we enjoyed the whole experience.The standard of ingredients used mostly organic was so wonderful,served in a charming dining room with so much attention to detail. This made our stay in Edinburgh a pleasure . Thankyou.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed here in February 2012, found the location very central but not noisy at all,15minute walk to queen street. Host was fantastic,very friendly and gave us great food recommendations. Breakfast was really delicious if a bit early (finishes at 9). Cleaner very thorough although also quite early (11) but suppose this got us up and about! Bedroom beautiful, lovely and warm, clean, beautifully decorated as was the whole building. Beds very comfortable,I usually don't like when two single beds are pushed together but didn't notice this at all, and loved the extra room! Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others as Carole and her husband George are really good hosts-it was my birthday on the weekend and Carole left me sweets and a card!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Broughton & Calton
14 Hart Street
14 Hart Street
#2 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Cruachan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Cruachan Guest House

Property: Ben Cruachan Guest House
Address: 17 McDonald Road, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland (Formerly Ben Cruachan)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ben Cruachan Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ben Cruachan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing